Dreaming of Spring - a Reminiscence

in #garden7 years ago

pexels-photo-176169.jpeg

When I had the space for a garden, now would be the time of the year I would begin to dream of Spring. Sitting at the kitchen table, going over notes from the previous year's harvest. I might have a new seed catalog or two, for some reason I never got into the habit of saving seeds and would have to purchase them every year.

With a pad of paper in front of me I would start to plot out the garden. Move the beans, don't move the beans? Was there better drainage here in the corner, or here on the side? Should I try corn along the edge - I usually didn't have good luck with corn. We usually didn't grow too many tomatoes for canning, my wife's Mom used to put up a delicious tomato and zucchini mix.

We had no garden last year. We had moved into a small apartment in the village. Oh sure, I kept some small hand tools as a promise to myself. All the rest; rototiller, most of the other hand tools, signs and twine, and stakes. All that went to the yard sale we had before we moved. There isn't any space here for a garden.

This year, I would like to grow again. I think I will get one of those garden spots that are sometimes available for apartment dwellers. Or maybe, I will see if friends with space for a garden want to trade my labor and produce for the use of the space. To be able to smell the rich soil, to work it with my hands. I dream of Spring.

Sort:  

Enjoy the vote and reward!

please follow back....i'm pretty new on here

I will give you advice that asking for follows or upvotes is not a good thing to do. Technically, it is against the rules. Myself I don't care and have followed you because you seem to be a poet. To get followers I recommend you follow @larryphang. Every week he has a free resteem service where he sends a post you send him to all his followers. If you go to @annadoll every day and take her quiz and upvote, she will upvote you back. This is easy money. If you go to @juicypop every day and upvote and comment what he asks, he will share money he makes from that post with you. If you go to @lucky-elephant sometimes there is a post where SBD or Steem is shared. I also recommend that you go to other people's posts and make thoughtful comments. Sometimes, others will upvote your comment and this will be income. To help you I will resteem one of your posts to my followers. Welcome to Steemit and good luck to you!

Thank you for those words,i actually didn't know it was against the rules..well i know now,thanks to you and for the recommendations I'll action on them.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @industriousliv to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Dreaming, planning, theyre both the same in my books

Think small. Find room for a 5 shelf 4’ wide x 18” deep wire rack unit. Then get yourself some 4 bulb T8 fluorescent fixtures used in hydroponics. They fit perfect under each shelf. Finally, add four 10x20 flats to each shelf and grow baby everything . . .

This post has received a 100.00 % upvote from @boostme thanks to @industriousliv.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51