Raised bed Hugelkultur pt2 tomato/pepper starts in greenhouse

in #garden7 years ago

raised bed tomatoes.JPG
I was finally able to pull the carrots and peas out and get my tomatoes and peppers planted. Hopefully they take off quick, I added about four inches of fresh compost to the bed before transplanting to help them get going. This year we've had late hard freezes preventing me from being able to plant as early as I normally would, but I think with the greenhouse I should have enough time to get a decent harvest.

Sort:  

What zone are you in? good luck

thanks.. I am zone 3

I'm kind of surprised that you don't put more dirt in your raised bed, but I'm not sure what your design idea is for it. I've seen pictures of boxes like this with covers over them, like a cold frame. Those tend to have higher sides like this.

I put greenhouse film over it in the winter to make a greenhouse in a greenhouse, It has a base layer of branches approx 10 inches thick, then a layer of topsoil around 4 inches thick, then the 4 inches of compost. The goal was to make a no till bed that retains water better than topsoil and slowly decomposes.

Congratulations @gunsmithing! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67640.77
ETH 3784.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65