Garden-In-A-Can? What? Good Grief!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #garden7 years ago

Have We Become A Lazy Society?

The other day I was in a large home improvement store, and as always, I end up strolling by the gardening section. At this time of year, I look for clearance items and, in general, what they have in stock. You just never know when an idea will strike you.

I grew my entire garden, with the exception of one mint plant, from seed. The corn, tomatoes, peppers, all my herbs, potatoes and on and on... well, imagine my surprise, or should I say horror, when I saw this...

thumbnail.jpg

Are you for real?

Is this what some of the people in society have come to? Open, water and grow? Then you can claim to all those who listen that you are a master gardener? What happened to getting your hands dirty? What happened to the feeling of pride when you stand back one day and look at your harvest and bounty?

Reminds me of when we went to the Detroit Lions' football game on opening day last week. We had our seats listed on our 'emailed' confirmation, plus the people printed off a ticket (about the size of a bandage). So we walked the corridor, looking up at the seats and signs. I found our section and me and my husband began walking to go up the stairs. My two step-sons were wandering aimlessly... lost.

I told my husband, "if their phones and an app doesn't tell them where to go or what to do, they have no clue."

How do people get through life? If we lost power or had an EMP, I think 75-percent of the population would be lost, have cell phone withdrawals and panic to a state beyond repair.

Garden-In-A-Can is FOR REAL!

I came home after snapping these pictures and researched it online.

How much? A four pack of Garden-In-A-Can? $24??? Are you insane??!!
Dill... Cilantro...Basil and Sage come in the four pack. But my store sold them individual and I only saw Basil and Mint.
Just 'pop' the top and water daily... and you too can have an organic herb garden... from a can... Good grief!

thumbnail (1).jpg

Shaking My Head

$24 online for a four pack. The store had them at $5.98 each.
But an you imagine what that $24 would buy you instead of a (partial herb) garden-in-a-can?

I could go to one of my favorite seeds websites, MI Gardener and buy 24 packets of seeds. All their seeds are .99/cents.

I could go to the Dollar Tree and buy 24 buckets or plastic bathroom size garbage cans to grow small plants and my herbs.

I could go to the local bakery and pie shop and get a dozen 5-gallon (food grade) buckets.

I could do so much with that $24 instead of buying four herbs to grow in a can.

I keep looking at the picture in this post and can't stop chuckling.... Garden-In-A-Can... Good Grief!

SIGNATURE.jpgDQmWrXCPVGRFqdbXTXFjsQfhDXZys1FT3dWoX8LdXyK4XYv_1680x8400.pngDQmYXXHDrDwhEdyGeY3dmTFcG8swHjuLQeWMii6nJEZhGTB_1680x8400.png

Badges by @daddykirbs</center
Come join the homestead slack community and have fun chatting with us- click picture below.
DQmTa57Whsb55DXfodWEvxENX4NUzyU7kqqvnx9Fuf95D1H_1680x8400.jpg
DQmUAPFKc4m1ZSxdLLAwPuvaYsKDVEMNmjbqN3huRfBsGSk_1680x8400.jpg
Badge created by @allforthegood

Sort:  

Ridiculous! The entire world spends their lives trying to create an outward appearance, but with as little effort as possible!
I so despair...

Thank you!!! Exactly my thoughts
People just want instant gratification with no hard work going into it

I'll bet those are the same people that came up with that old McDonald's promo where they gave you a sunflower seed in a biodegradable pot.

When it comes to cell phone zombies it's hilarious when you see them walk into a pole because they are on the phone and not paying attention. Okay, it's sick humor.

Upvoted and following. Have a nice day with your mint in a can.

Lol... yeah I find a "sick" humor with people who stare at their phones. I don't wish harm upon anyone but still fun to watch.

Never, ever would I do a garden in a can. Too ridiculous!

Don't get me wrong, I wish them no harm. Don't lie, I can just see all those cans by the sink. Something funny I just recalled about those sunflowers. I got one and put it down on the passenger side floor. The car I had leaked. The sunflower got wet and sprouted. I left it in the car till it was blocking my side view. I didn't clean the car much back then. Have a good day.

I hear you on this @goldendawne, but I tend to think about it a bit differently...

If these types of "plug and play" setups get someone INTO gardening...isn't it worth it? Let's face it...many people are so urbanized and modernized that this is the only way they would EVER begin growing something.

I'm all for more gardeners, even if they have to come via a product like this :)

~ Kevin

Valid point Kevin. I do have to agree that all gardeners start somewhere.
It just struck me as... WOW!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

First time to know about that and I am a bit speechless. :P

Lol! That is too funny although creative for people with smaller spaces like a tiny NYC apartment or something maybe? Or a kid to get them started, but it does make more sense to just buy the cheaper seeds and figure out a container. Anyway, yes, if something happened to internet, phones, etc. we would all be in big trouble. Well, most of the world. Thanks for the post!

Another Michigan based seed company that you might be interested in checking out is Annie's Heirloom Seeds. They do mail order and they have a website.
AnniesHeirloomSeeds.com
I get seeds from them every year, and they never disappoint me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63188.04
ETH 2570.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79