You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🌱to💰• Growing Money In Your Yard Series • {pt2} • Grow What You Know & How to Find Profitable Opportunities

in #garden7 years ago

I was thinking I might sell some of the produce from my garden this year but I've become too good at growing a variety and planting in a way not to get overwhelmed at one time. I get a ton of tomatoes but I freeze them and cook with them. Everything else gets eaten but I'm saving a lot of money :).

Sort:  

I started out giving food away and people started to pay me anyhow, so I started approaching my growing methods from a commercial perspective. It can be greatly beneficial even if you don't plan to sell anything.

Why? Short answer: growing commercially requires maximizing yields, minimizing labor. Commercial growers grow more food per square foot because they are relying on that produce to sustain business. The average gardener could learn a great deal from reading and researching the topic. Learning how to grow more food in the same amount of space you are growing in now. It's possible 😉. You can grow tomato plants that yield 80+ lbs. of tomatoes in a season depending on where you are growing. I'm going to encourage you to try it @garden-to-eat, if you don't sell it you can always make lots of happy neighbors! The more we know, the more we grow! Thanks for dropping by, I always try to follow and support fellow gardener-Steemians & #greenthumbs 🔥🚀 STEEM ON!

I think it's a good idea and the more people you can convince to grow food to sell the better. We need to become less reliant on commercial agriculture and more self sufficient. My objective here is to help folks get started or progress to larger gardens and a wider variety of crops by sharing the knowledge I've built up from over 35 years of gardening. And of course you never stop learning so I'm picking up some new ideas from others also.

While I'm focused more on gardening to eat I think we have similar goals. I buy mostly organic when I'm not eating from the garden and after several years of calculating the amount of produce coming from my garden I averaged $1,500 a year savings not counting what I gave away. Thanks for following. Following you back.

Very nicely put, @garden-to-eat. Right on the money

We need to become less reliant on commercial agriculture and more self sufficient.
Absolutely! We have our own best interest in mind when we grow our own food, not to mention our friends, family, & neighbors.

Commercial growing is essential for us to sustain life, but it tends to be quite different; small scale farms compared to large scale operations are vastly different with different products. With more local produce growers selling to market - the market (all of us) win. Better prices, better products for consumers. If we generate an abundance of healthy food, help others to generate a profit from their valuable skills - we have won! Let's bring the power back into the hands of the consumer. Glad to have made your acquaintance @garden-to-eat and I look forward to growin' together 🌱🍅😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63773.27
ETH 2738.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59