Garden Update -- The Tomatoes Are In (finally)

in #garden5 years ago

Better late than never. I finally got the tomatoes planted. I had too many plants to just put in pots so I decided to put them in the garden instead. When I was too sick to garden my Mom decided to have the whole thing mulched to keep the weeds down. Black fabric was put down and the red cedar mulch on top. Well it didn't do anything to stop the weeds but it's a pain in the butt now that I want to plant. Have to cut an X in the fabric everywhere I want to put a plant. Then move it out of the way to dig a small hole to drop the plant in. Made something that should have taken an hour take all day. Still not done yet either. Only managed to get 9 of the plants caged. Still have to cage the rest. The wire for the cages isn't stiff enough to go through the fabric so that's another pain. Hopefully it will keep the weeds down some. On a plus note (hopefully) tomato plants love red for some reason so it should help them grow.


If you are wondering why it took so long to get them in see the pic below. That is the rain from the last week. I took a rough measurement of how deep it is. There is between 4" to over a foot of water in that tote. Most of it is over 8" deep so looking at 8"+ of rainfall in a week. Even after all that rain I still had to water the cucumber plants. They were bone dry. Amazing how much water they soak up.

Today's goal: get the zucchini and watermelon planted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60171.52
ETH 2421.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46