Gardening Lowers Your Food Costs

in #garden7 years ago

Who Said I Could Not Do A Garden?

Almost everyone can do some kind of a garden. This is a shot of a tiny RV patio where I had my garden growing. The results were that I ended up growing almost 50% of what I ate that year. How many can use a reduction in your food budget?

 "Explore your World and soar like an eagle"

Enjoy the journey,

Marla Silva @ floridagypsy   

  @ 2017 floridagypsy. All Rights Reserved.        

Sort:  

I love that you grew your own food. It is the most satisfying thing to do for a gardener @floridagypsy

Every place is a little different, but when we combine it with drying, canning, fermentation, and freezing, we can do a lot even in the north and with little space. This picture was in Florida, but I will soon have a thriving garden in the Northwest. It is a lifestyle, I think.

I totally agree! I come from a huge dairy farming family that has always grown their own food and butchered their own meat or raised the chickens for eggs...etc. I have been growing my own veggies and canning since I was a teenager over 45 years ago and still going strong. Now I make soaps from my herbs and flowers too! It is just in the blood and we can't help but go back to our roots.

Yeah for homegrown food! Can't wait till the papayas are big enough and bearing fruit.

I eat from the store Organic. This cuts what I spend way down. And nothing tastes better than homegrown. You can walk outside, pick it , and eat it. Awesome.

Same here! Nothing beats the taste of homegrown. Though I'm still figuring out how to grow many things since growing in the tropics is quite different from growing in Belgium.

I am used to growing in the tropics and having to adjust to living in the Pacific Northwest of the USA.

Not everything needs as much sun as in Belgium. the first lesson I learned :-)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of May 01. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.04 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 01 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65844.70
ETH 3445.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68