Growing Things: Must Be Summer Again

in #garden6 years ago

cover919.jpg

To my shock not only did we get very little wind or rain this week it’s been a real scorcher outdoors. It is the middle of September and the entire week is low 90’s. Not sure if this is going be the new normal or if we just go some prolonged pool weather!

Either way had little issues this week with any of the plants. Which means for once I have very little to say as well! With how long many of my other posts have been getting I’m more grateful then you reader!

Been a long day and I did not get a chance to get these photos till later in the evening. The sun is setting and this camera is not that great in the lower light. As such everything is a bit darker and not as sharp as it uses. At least up to what I tend to post for these garden updates. Thankfully there was a dark and light side so some photos turned out without much issue.

So, let’s take a quick look around and see how everything is growing or rather not changing much.

Red Pepper

redpepper.jpg

A couple of white flowers there are still growing. Nothing that I have noticed to start to form yet from them. It does not seem to be enjoying this warmer weather as much as I have been.

Big Bertha

bigbirtha.jpg

I was expecting the two growing to be much bigger by now. I mean it is called big bertha after all. You can see on the far left over the edge of the pink planter. The other one on the far right making that branch lean a fair amount.

Green Pepper

greenpepper.jpg

You would think these things would be called the Big Berthas. I can almost taste them stuffed! They are starting to get a bit of red tint to them. I think soon I might have to do something about it. They are going make some wonderful bell peppers that are for sure.

Tomato

tomato.jpg

This is where the most interesting thing happened during the week. While I’m not looking to be self-sustaining if I can just pick one item out of the garden a week that just be fine by me. With that said down to just one tomato now that other one ripped over the week and was put onto a hamburger.

I really was hoping it would be much bigger but that is just how it goes. This plant did suffer a lot of stress and setbacks during the year. The tomato itself was quite juicy and so much better than anything bought at the store. I feel a little bit spoiled getting to have one as tasty as it was while most people are is happy with store-bought.

Jalapeno

jalapeno.jpg

There are a couple of them on the far right that should be near good enough soon. Perhaps I’ll chop them up and drop them into a stuffed pepper. Somewhere I’m sure that must be a crime consuming that many vegetables at once!

Have a great rest of the week everyone! I can’t believe it is already Wednesday.

Information

Photos were taken by @enjar using a Photosmart M627.

enjarcatsig.png

Sort:  

90's in the second half of September? Yikes! That reminds me of my many years living in Texas!

But yes, I guess it means a very long growing season... especially given that you (probably) don't get frost, at ALL.

We might get a couple during the winter but they are not that bad. Most of the time its like 2-3 hard freeze warnings for only couple of hours.

I also had a tomato plant but only live in seasons like spring and a few days in the summer, I'm surprised that yours is growing progressively, of course it depends on the temperature and how hot it is according to the country or state , And yes, the summers is a hot season, but very good for the beach, by the way I love green peppers, ideal for stews, pizzas, spaghetti and some meats.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49