Starting a Garden in Northern Canada in Late November

in #garden2 years ago

A few factors converged this year to make a winter planting possible. One, garlic can be planted late in the fall. Two, I was busy moving in October (and early November), necessitating I push back the work. And three, we are having an unseasonably-warm early winter here in North-Western BC. Because of that, I was able to start my new garden at my new house, while Christmas music played in every nearby store!

There's the back yard. I've never had such a large area to work with. Hopefully that helps compensate for the cooler temperatures and diminished growing season. I hope to produce a good amount of food here.

When we first arrived, I spent a few days watching where the sunlight fell at various times of the day. I'm pretty far North of the equator, so I have to catch every ray possible. I was closer to the Canada/USA border until my recent move. Now I'm up by the Alaskan panhandle:

The first snowfall of the season already came and went, and mild temperatures returned, so a window to get my garlic into the ground appeared.

I decided on putting it along the left side of the yard, up against the fence.

I did about 50 cloves. I had another 100 or so, harvested from my previous back yard in July, but kept those to eat over the winter. Had some tonight, in fact, with a buttery curry sauce and rice noodles.

Each clove was placed in a hole about 3 inches deep. I didn't remove the grass, which made things really easy, because there was no need to fill the holes in afterward - I just replaced the plug, grass-side up. Not removing the grass also saved me a LOT of work.

We'll see how things go when they come up in March. I may regret not digging out the grass (and moss).

Garlic likes cool spring weather, and doesn't need full sun, so I think they'll do well here.

I've grown garlic about 10 times now. I highly recommend it to everyone. It's easy, delicious, extremely healthy, and also beneficial to the garden because it drives away certain pests.

I'm thankful to have got it into the ground, because that officially kicks off a new gardening adventure! Stay tuned in 2023 as I grow tropical plants like tomatoes up here in Northern Canada.

DRutter

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63061.76
ETH 2602.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75