My garden is filling in with green

in #garden21 days ago

Spring is grinding on here in Northern BC Canada, and my backyard garden is in fine form. Have a look around! First up is the sunflower seedlings coming up in the squash patch:

ad.JPG

I gave my friend Bert Easterbrook some lettuce seeds to help him get started with gardening several years ago. He had success, and it helped him really break into the habit of growing his own food. Lettuce was simple enough that he could produce something for his family on the first try, and he kept at it from then on. Bert collected the seeds his lettuce plants made at the end of the season, and because I had used up all mine, he gave me a sandwich baggie full of them. I've been growing them every year since, and have plenty of seeds I've created myself.

Bert died a couple years back. I think about him whenever I plant or harvest this lettuce.

ae.JPG

Garden upgrade! I added a couple feet to the near edge of my main garden bed. This new land will be used to grow a row of tomato plants, to be started this week.

aa.JPG

Now for the latest yard update shots:

g053.JPG

Here's where you can see the new addition:

g054.JPG

g055.JPG

g056.JPG

And the latest apple updates...

a26.JPG

a27.JPG

I'm enjoying my little backyard oasis so far this year. It has rained a fair bit lately, which is great, as everything has really greened up.

Whenever I spend a few minutes among my plants, and the upgrades I've made to the yard so far, I get a feeling of accomplishment. It's not too impressive, but I did it myself. I didn't have any help, except from my wife, who has picked about a million dandelions, and helped care for the children while I'm working. I've had no budget to work with, no fancy tools or equipment, just a shovel and some seeds I collected from plants I grew in the past. Now I have a sprawling vegetable garden, a flower bed, a fire pit, a forest garden, blueberry bushes, an apple tree, reclaimed lawn from scrub, and more. I started this all under 14 months ago, struggling throughout with a debilitating nerve disorder, arrhythmia, and heart failure. I feel that I've done well.

If you're interested, my previous update was here.

Thank you for visiting!

Grow in peace.
DRutter

banner2024.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52