Garden is filling in nicely

in #gardenlast month

Spring is edging toward Summer here in Northwestern BC Canada, and my garden is full of action! Potatoes are getting lush, peas are climbing and starting to flower, beans are up, lettuce needs eating every couple days, and everywhere there could be something green, there is! I'm loving it.

aag.JPG

There's my "pink finger" potato patch. You may also notice some purple leaves amongst the green potato plants...

aah.JPG

That's my orache! Quite a stunning colour. This "mountain spinach" will be ready to start enjoying in a couple weeks, and should produce into August.

Now, come with me to the back of the yard, into my secret garden...

aae.JPG

Just behind the firepit, at the edge of the woods, is a small clearing. Bright sunlight streams into this spot for several hours every day, plus quite a bit of partial light in the morning and evening. I can see it well from my house, and from the rest of my back yard, but it's tucked into the woods in a way that the neighbors on either side can't really tell it's there.

aad.JPG

So I've dug a few holes in the forest floor, finding the ground underneath to be healthy soil ready for growing plants. Perfect for my needs! One at a time, I will transplant my Reclining Buddha plants from my indoor (washing machine) grow area, into the backyard secret garden. The first was done last night. Here it is today:

aaf.JPG

That's a happy plant if I've ever seen one. I think this is going to go well! It will be my first real outdoor grow. Over the years, I've grown a good dozen full crops inside. And I've grown a plant in a pot in a greenhouse. And I've grown a really big male plant in an outdoor garden. But this is 7 plants, outdoors and in the ground. Hopefully at least a few of them are female! (The males will be removed so they don't pollinate the ladies.)

And of course, the latest yard update shots...

g057.JPG

g058.JPG

g059.JPG

Goodbye to the lilac blooms (top left), which were pretty again this year. But make way for the late Spring and early Summer crops coming on now! The garden is looking fuller and greener every day!

For my last garden update, click here.

Thanks for visiting and please drop by again soon!

Grow in peace.
DRutter

banner2024.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57563.20
ETH 3078.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41