Eating from my garden every day right now

in #gardenlast year

Starting 100 days ago, I dug up this garden by hand, a little every day, and put in seeds as I went. It is now mid Summer and the food is rolling in! Today, I dug up just enough potatoes for my family's lunch.

food1.JPG

They're firm, white as snow after peeling, and delicious. We've been eating salads and peas for weeks now, and that has been great, but it's awesome to finally be adding some homegrown carbohydrate comfort food into the mix!

It's all 200% organic, of course. No products used. Just sunshine, rain, air, and the dirt lying in the ground.

The green bush beans are really producing at the moment. Handfuls every day:

food2.JPG

As you can see, they're flawless. They get chopped up and lightly boiled or steamed, and eaten with a bit of butter and salt.

food3.JPG

Those are little red nugget potatoes I didn't bother to peel. I pulled out a couple young sweet carrots and tossed them in. After washing, they didn't even really need peeling. Veggies this fresh don't need to be cooked for long, leaving them full of flavour and nutrition when eaten.

This meal was in my belly just 30 minutes after it was alive in my garden.

My wife and I, and our 2 children, are getting about 1/4 of our total nutrition from the garden right now, and I expect that to continue over the next couple months, then taper off going into winter. I'm already excited about what I'll be able to accomplish next year, when I won't have to dig up the lawn from scratch, and I'll have figured out what works best here.

Here are the latest garden update photos:

gard68.JPG

gard69.JPG

gard70.JPG

You may have noticed foliage yellowing as the plants mature. Some of the potatoes, for example, and the peas are finishing up. But I have plenty of tomato plants growing and starting to flower now, beans and carrots producing nonstop, and I may even throw in a couple rows of lettuce as the weather cools in September.

Thanks for checking out my garden!
DRutter

banner2023.jpg

Sort:  

Hi @drutter, congratulations on your blog.

It's a pity that your posts don't get much visibility.

Unfortunately, on such a big blogging platform, users risk not getting the results and visibility they deserve.

As you know, for all social media, including Steemit, it is essential to interact with other users and try to create a network of friends to provide mutual support.

A great way to gain more visibility and make yourself known on Steemit is also to participate in competitions.

In this way, you can get in touch with many users and sponsor your blog, then receive a curation for participating in the competition.

If you want, you can have a look at: Contest Alerts: Active Contest List where many active contests on Steemit are listed, maybe there is one for you.

I hope I have given you useful advice. Good luck with your blog.😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67232.91
ETH 3240.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64