My first Tomato Harvest and where I started

in #garden7 years ago

This season started my third spring in my new to me house. Last season I had one micro-garden, which grew raspberries (very successful year) and strawberries, that were planted in the first year I moved in. The raspberries were transplanted from The Farm up in the The Mitten. I also attempted 1 grow bag and some corn in a big planter. When last fall came around, I made plans to increase my garden area and try out things to see what would work in my suburban setting. I like to name my gardens. We also named our two decks. The screened in deck is The Oasis and is the wife's, while mine is the open air deck called The Grilling Deck, because that's where I grill things.

TheOasis.jpg

The Side Micro-Garden


I moved the strawberry and raspberry plants around in the Side Micro-Garden and made room for other plants. My wife gave me a blueberry bush and a grape vine, which I planted at the east end of the garden. I tried to plant peas, carrots, borage, lettuce and I put some extra tomato plants and potatoes in different spots of the garden. I

The Container Garden


I was also given two BloemBagz Potato Planters, which I put at the footing of The Grilling Deck, which is where I also relocated the corn planter, which I call the Container Garden. I took out one potato and it was a good size. However, when I checked the top layer, I didn't find any potatoes of good size in either planter. I think that the soil wasn't loose enough.

The Grilling Deck - Grow Bags


On The Grilling Deck I added to the one bag I put up there last year with two new bags. Later I would add a fourth bag, when I won a bag of PittMoss. I planted the tomato plants and various other plants that I had started in a seed tray. The tomato plants in the bags have given me cherry tomatoes, which we have already eating and there are more being produced.

The Front Micro-Garden


In the front of the house, I started another garden, which was bout two feet wide and six feet long. That's all I could do at the time with the red clay. This made it look like I buried something in the front yard for a few weeks. The Front Micro-Garden gets the most sun during the day. I planted a few tomato plants, cucumber, cantaloupe, radish, rhubarb, celery, egg plant, lettuce, basil and pumpkin. So far, the tomato and cantaloupe are the only things doing well. The radish did bolt and I am going to try to replant the seeds.

The Wild Flower Garden


My backyard is fenced in and the back length had some holly bushes, I cut them down to create the Wild Flower Garden. The plan was to plant a bunch of wild flower seeds in order to attract more pollinators to my yard and gardens. Later my parents bought some other flowers to plant as the wild flowers didn't really produce much. The holly bushes have also started to grow back, so I need to stump grind them into nothing. I did put some cucumber and summer squash seeds in the garden, but after the cucumbers showed some promise, they just gave up.

My Jungle


Behind the fence is what I refer to as My Jungle. It is an area that is basically out of control. I attempted to plant a couple of cherry trees back there, but unfortunately they didn't survive. I am getting replacements, but they will most likely go either in the wild flower garden or the front yard. I am leaning towards the front yard, because there are a couple of bushes I want to get rid of.

This year's harvest has been hit and miss. I have some ideas on what I can improve for next year. For one, I need to get even more organized and make sure things have enough space and the right soil to grow. I will replace the grow bags, with some better and bigger bags. I won a Mister Landscaper Drip Kit, which I didn't get around to setting up, that I plan to use for the grow bags and else where. Also, I started a vertical hydroponic wall project that I need to complete and test out next season. And, I might have to hand pollinate things next year. The growing season isn't over, so there is still hope for surprises.

Here's my video of my first tomato harvest.


DeanLogicForkSing-sm.png
SteemBadges-colorchallenge-150.jpgSteemBadges-filmmaking-150.jpggardenbadge-small.pngredFish.png

Let the positive energy sing!

More Power to the Minnows!!


Sort:  

Excellent post! I really like all the pictures. The video was a little slow, but was great to see the tomatoes you're producing.

As I mentioned in another comment here, we gardened in containers last year and had a great time of it. I think we might even do some this year; I had them stored in the chicken pen, and just cleared it out a few days ago when it rained -- I had thought to use them to catch rainwater coming off the various roofs, but the rain passed quickly.

But, now they're out and visible, and "in sight, in mind." :) Also we want chickens so that's a step in the right direction as well.

It seems like there are a lot more choices for container bags now.
The garden bags I have, my parents picked up for a couple bucks on sale. They are good for about one season and don't really provide enough area. I've seen some for different prices that offer up my larger area. I like the BloemBagz, but they aren't cheap. I am guessing that they will last a lot longer than the cheaper ones.

We had tomatoes in containers last year, which worked great. Now they're in the soil, with all the diseases and pests that that conveys... 1/2 :)

I really didn't have a plan for the video. I knew I was just going to cut them up and see what they were like.
I probably should have provided more history on tomatoes and why they switched from the black and discolored kind to the red ones.

Of course, I provide the background music to make it more enjoyable. LOL
My garden update videos go quicker, since i am pointing out what is going on.

Hey no worries, it's daring to show your face! :) Just wanted to provide feedback for improvement. :)

Check out my Easy Meat Pie
That's a little better planned, because I was repeating a recipe I tried once already.

Nice! We just did a chicken pot pie using the same crescent rolls, a few days ago. It was excellent, I will reach out to the wife. Oh, I can do that easily: @countrylover! :)

Wow well done... from what i read and sow in the photos looks like a lot of work but i bet eating your own vegetables and fruits and seeing all the plants and flowers grow is priceless!
Honest i am thinking as well in the future to move to a house as for the moment i live in one apartment and if i will do that for sure i will start to do almost the same things like you...
As well ad from time to time some more updates so we can see the results and try as well to build some fruit trees that can survive in the area that you are living!
Take care my Eco-friendly friend!

Based on my success. I would recommend starting out in grow bags or large plant containers first. That way, you can move them around to see what really works, before struggling to dig up dirt and fight off weeds.

I do enjoy eating the raspberries and cherry tomatoes directly from the plant.

I second that recommendation. We grew in 50 or so containers last year, and had a huge harvest (continual, as well!). This year we're in the soil, but there are so many additional issues -- it's "just dirt" that was there, we tilled it but didn't improve it; rabbits are terrorizing our eggplants; and there are a lot more insects than last year when everything was a couple feet above the ground.

Still, last year we had cabbage moths that destroyed our kale, cabbage, and lettuce. A great solution for those is to mix up a quart of water with a tablespoon of olive oil, a tablespoon of dish detergent, and a tablespoon of powdered cayenne pepper, shake it up, and spray it all over the leaves. Do this every three or four days (and after any rains) and it should break the cycle in a couple weeks.

One tip: fill the container mostly full of water before adding the dish detergent -- you don't want it to foam when you add more water! :)

Thanks for the curie, man!
Woah!

Up in the Mitten? Oh my... you still in Michigan? Born and raised for me. I used to live up in the mitten

I really got into gardening couple years ago and am now branching out into herbs for eating and medicinal purposes.
Great post!

No. Born there, raised elsewhere... Air Force / Government brat.
My parents are back living on the homestead there. They try to bring down as many transplants as they can.

Upvoting and Resteeming. Keep up the good work!

Thanks for the resteem.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by DeanLogic from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Thanks for your support to our comunity, every should support others for growing togethers
Best regard.

Notice that jump in votes and payout? You just got upvoted by @curie and their followers. :-) @georgemales submitted your post to @curie.

Ahh... Thank you very much!

What are friends for if not for helping... i am really glad @curie accept when i submitted your post! Keep up the good work and Steem on!

I had to try randowhale after that. Just to test it out, since they are having a 50% off sale.
Not as impressive as curie. I guess that's why curie is selective.

Yes you are right... that is the reason why it's selective plus all the followers are voting as well... you have great content and i am glad i could help submitting your blog!

I second your content! This post was on my list to submit but I was setting up my account on Streemian :-) Just as well, @georgemales had a good eye too! :-)

Awww....I'm blushing, y'all.

Woah!! Thanks for all the upvotes!

I wish to be there, to help you and in the main time to learn something new about things.

Well I will try to post more updates. Not much going on now as I wait for tomatoes to ripen and other things to do something.

Thank you i will wait till next update

Great post @deanlogic!! It´s a better way to know how to cultivate vegetables abroad. It´s a pity in my country there aren´t these kind of events. Good luck and hope you do it better next year. Greetings from Venezuela! :D

Yes, you guys have it rough there right now.
Store seeds if you can. Store rain water and dirt where you can. There are many creative ways to grow things.

I totally agree with you! :D

Well sir, you have many gardens stashed all over the place! That's awesome! Great job on the video and congratulations on your harvest brother! I especially like your micro garden setup. That is a pretty great set up. Very versatile! you can pretty much grow anywhere with that bad boy! Congrats again man!

Nice man! Versatile gardening is definitely the way to be! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81