Fruits and Veggies update 15 July, 2017

in #garden7 years ago

Part of the #fruitsandveggies challenge by @barbara-orenya

Container Garden


I am still leaving the potatoes in the bags, because the plants haven't completely died off yet. I might just have to take them out before that happens, since it has been 100+ days. Still plenty of pretty yellow flowers and nothing to show.

The peppers seem to be doing okay, but I doubt they will ever do anything.

The corn might do something or it might not.

I planted some new pumpkins last weekend, this is their progress so far.

Side Micro-Garden

The lettuce finally started to flower. I'm not sure when I should bag them and try to get seeds out of them, but since this is the first day I have noticed the flowers, I might wait a while. However, if they drop seeds into the ground, I won't mind.

The carrots look nice, but I pulled one a week ago and it was tiny.

I do have a few tomatoes on the vine, which is good.

The grape, blueberry and raspberry bushes continue to grow, so looking forward to what they will bring next year.

Front Micro-Garden

The cucumbers (I assume) are growing nicely and producing a ton of flowers, but now fruit. The bees enjoy the flowers.

It looks like I will get some tomatoes.


Wild Flower Garden

Welp, the cucumbers here look horrible.

The summer squash flowered, but nothing else is happening.

Oh, and it would seem that I have muscadine grapes about 40 feet up in a tree.

Sort:  

Oh man, well at least SOMETHING'S happening in your garden! Haha. Mine's PA-THE-TIC. Terribly so.

For harvesting seeds, you def. gotta wait until after they flower. Probably around when things start drying up and turning brown. :D But you gotta catch 'em before they pop out and seed the ground!

Yeah...not sure when to pick them, but I will keep an eye on them and get a paper bag over them.

I already know some things I will switch up for next season. But, it looks like I might have to start hand pollination next season as well.

I guess tha t depends on what plants you're thinking. Cucumbers are notorious for sucking at pollinating! Maybe also get some bees!

I've got three types of bees in and out of my cucumber plants in the front micro-garden. I also have the native tiny red, blue and yellow bees. Really cool looking, I need to find out more info on them. And I have dragon flies.

But, yeah, I would like to have my own hive.

I've just seen your post now , so in order for you to know for a next time, the fruits and veggie challenge is now runned by @lenasveganliving and takes place on Monday, if you want to participate ...here is the whole tag :
#FruitsandVeggiesMonday
Have a great day @deanlogic !

Thanks. I'll try to remember that for the next time I do it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65910.66
ETH 2696.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88