I Found Some Mustard Plants Growing In My Mom's Lawn

in #garden6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180407_134937608.jpg

Cause of the recent rains I have noticed mustard plants growing in mom's lawn.

Mom does like to eat the mustard greens and I seen several plants that look like this one.

So I told mom that I would avoid mowing over the mustard plants that I seen in the lawn. Later we can prepare an area to transplant them.

Our plan is to get all the strong looking mustard plants and dig them up then replant them in rows.

I remember my mom talking of how my grandma used to always go into the field to gather and cook wild mustard greens served with steamed rice.

It was a meal in itself. Thing is if you check out the benefits of eating mustard greens you will find a variety of vitamins and minerals. So it is a nutritious food and some even calling it a super food.

To me it seems like a another green to mix with kale, Swiss Chard and broccoli greens.

Also remember how Jesus taught using the seed of the mustard?

As it is written, Another parable put he forth unto them, saying, The kingdom of heaven is like to a grain of mustard seed, which a man took, and sowed in his field: Which indeed is the least of all seeds: but when it is grown, it is the greatest among herbs, and becometh a tree, so that the birds of the air come and lodge in the branches thereof. Matthew 13:31-32.

Also It is written again, And Jesus said unto them, Because of your unbelief: for verily I say unto you, If ye have faith as a grain of mustard seed, ye shall say unto this mountain, Remove hence to yonder place; and it shall remove; and nothing shall be impossible unto you. Matthew 17:20.

So I will look forward to see how large these plants will be as they grow and it will remind me of the teachings of Jesus concerning the mustard seed.

Sources 1

If you enjoyed this blog please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is mine taken with my Moto G.

Sort:  

what is the name of the leaves

People sometimes call them mustard greens. Thank you @hasyimi!

Happy Sunday @ david777111, nice post greetings

friend @david thank you for sharing these parables and compare them with mustard plants greeting

Good day friend @ david777111, beautiful plants that your mother keeps them, greetings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66521.28
ETH 3454.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67