Never Buy Tomatoes Again.

in #garden6 years ago


In this video I decided to do an experiment. I decided to take a store bought tomato and see if it would grow a new plant. I did this without using any fertilizer or bug spray. My goal was to see if I could in essence grow tomatoes for free. Well the end result could have been better if I would have feed the plant and kept the bugs away. In the end I did end up with a few tomatoes that I could eat. But many were lost to the bugs. So I did end up learning that it is possible. Next time I will take better care of the plant to see if the yield could be increased.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Interesting experiment. I would have never thought to try and grow tomatoes from a store bought tomato.

I love doing experiments. I am not scared to fail and sometimes I do, it is when one works I really enjoy the journey.

A store bought tomato would germinate but would need enough care to strive and develop properly ...next time when performing such experiment try putting the factor of tomato diseases into consideration so you dont end up losing all your supposed test harvest...good luck!

I will retry this again next year and care deeply for the plant to see if the result is different. Thank you for the feedback.

great video. Very insightful. I like that you had an idea and tryed it out, even if it doesn't work, the next run will be better due to the insights you have gained.

I also made a video update on my tomato (and other veggies ) patch.
https://steemit.com/veggie/@ozkdawg/4mdhnacq

I feel that you will never succeed if you do not try. There have been many things that I have failed to get a result on. So when I get a good result it encourages me to try something new.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75