Come and Get It! Dinner, that is.

in #garden7 years ago

image
Dinner's almost ready. Who wants to join us?
Tonight's menu:
Crispy oven roasted chicken thighs
Fried potatoes and yard long green beans (both from the garden)
Purple lettuce (from our garden)
Roasted onions, green peppers and mushrooms

The deer and squirrels didn't get all our veggies. The rain didn't wash them all away. We are getting a little bit of this and that to put on the table. It's lovely summertime! This little Roma tomato is the first of the season. Isn't she a beaut? image But I'm not slicing it up for tonight. I'll save it for tomorrow's lunch.
I found this recipe for the chicken thighs a couple months back, and have made it a few times. It's my family's favorite so far. https://www.101cookingfortwo.com/oven-baked-chicken-thighs/
@goatgarden is a bit picky when it comes to chicken, but I believe his words the first time I fixed it, "I think I might have to say this is delicious". I don't mind sharing my recipes.
I don't even know if it's ok to fry the beans with the potatoes, but we're trying it tonight (and yes, it's in bacon grease). Well the family will. (I'm eating a ketogenic diet, so I'll skip the spuds, but I'll savor the beans.) image
The lettuce is a little past it's prime, but nothing a splash of Italian dressing can't fix. image
My middle daughter and I got to pick a few wild blackberries today on our way back to the house after a little work with @goatgarden. We ate more than we collected for the rest of our family, but hey, at least we shared. image
Well, dinner will be on the table in about 10 minutes, and after we can go out and drink decaf on the deck. The lightening bugs will be blinking, the frogs will be singing, and the kittens will be playing. I hope you stop by!

Sort:  

wow, looks like great food!

Thank you! Was! Thank you for your reply

That all looks really good, I feel like I can taste it through the screen.

Next time you're in MO, you'll have to come for dinner. :) Thanks for your reply!

I'll definitely take you up on that offer!

Looks good! All from your garden/ immediate area?

The onions, peppers and mushrooms were all from the store as well. Our pepper plants aren't doing well this year, and we've never grown mushrooms. The onions we did are drying - my husband wants to save them for winter.

We usually get mushroom kits XD Good idea drying the onions, we have yet to try that (though lately we've been buying all our onions, this is the first time the vege patch seems to be actually chookproof).

I've never heard of a mushroom kit. I will look into that! Thanks!

Hi! The beans, potatoes and salad are all from our garden. The chicken was courtesy of Wal-Mart. :) Thank you!

Those are some really long green beans- what type are they? I wonder if I could grow them in the Washington, D.C. area?? Also, my all time favorite recipe for chicken thighs is from nom nom paleo: cracklin' chicken. So good!!

Hi! They're called yard long beans. I believe they will grow anywhere regular green beans will. I will look at your recipe. Sounds good!
The beans are fun- I never know if i should cut them up or leave them long. So i just do what floats my boat at the time. Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59956.07
ETH 2524.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49