Garage Rock, Simple Guitar Song from Ohio - Have You Seen My Baby? by The Kare Takers

in #garagerock6 years ago

Here's a mid tempo Garage Rock song you can dance to, and maybe do a cover with your own band!

The Kare Takers were 5 teens from Youngstown Ohio. Some say they were all around 15 when they recorded this! The year was either 1966 or 1967 depending on where you check. The band produced just this one 45 RPM Single, and both sides are kinda cool!

Side A is, Have You Seen My Baby? It starts with the lead guitar playing the main riff, with the drummer hitting the cymbal or cow bell to keep time. Then the bass and rhythm guitars come in, finally followed by the first verse.

Here are the lyrics:

Have you seen my baby? Have you seen my girl? Ever since she left me, my heart's been in a whirl.
She said she'd be mine, till the end of time. But time hasn't ended yet and she ran out on me!

Oh why did I have to lose, when I was so far ahead?
If she don't come back to me, please have some sympathy, on me!

Have you seen my baby? Have you seen my girl? Ever since she left me, its been the end of the world, for me.
She's out running 'round, with every man in town, since she put me down, way down on the ground.

Oh why did I have to lose, when I was so far ahead?
If she don't come back to me, please have some sympathy, for me!

Have you seen my baby? Have you seen my baby? Have you seen my baby?

The cool thing about the song structure is that the singer and guitarist do a sort of Call And Return. The singer sings his part and then the guitar kind of answers with a 5 to 8 note lick.

There is a video on YouTube of a guy covering the lead guitar part of this song. I only play a little guitar but I can see that this looks easy! It would be a cool song to teach a new guitar based band, maybe also made up with 15 year olds!

Here for your listening enjoyment are The Kare Takers, singing Have You Seen My Baby? Dig it!

Side B of this 45 is My Jane. It is also simple, but much more moody, slow and dreamy. I feel that the drummer is slightly off in parts, but his beats are still cool. This side is about a guy who loves his Jane, but there are problems with the parents. Check it out too!

Sort:  

Hello @garagebill, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks for stopping by and thanks for the vote. Always nice to meet new folks on here. Steem on, indeed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58