My gaming experience #1 - Yamcha Beats Frieza?! (Dragon Ball Z)

Anyone who knows Dragon Ball knows that Yamcha is the weakest of the heroes. And that fact made the "ending" I got in while playing "Dragon Ball Z: Super Saiya Densetsu" so funny years ago...

Tl;dr : Go to "Frieza Battle" section for the funny part.

That phase of my life

I think it was around 8-10 years ago, when me and my brother were playing GBA and SNES games on PC. I didn't know anything about the legality of downloading these games from the internet or the lack of it... We played many of these games, switching to one before even completing the one before.

But some games stuck on my memories like Pokemon, Shining Force and One Piece on GBA. Spiderman and the Dragon Ball games on the SNES....

Dragon Ball is one of the anime that shaped my childhood and teenage years, I loved the characters a lot... and while I didn't learn anything I could say it's one of the most gripping anime I ever saw.

Dragon Ball Z: Super Saiya Densetsu

This Super Nintendo game turns the popular anime into RPG, instead of choosing actions each turn, you randomly draw cards so the fight depends somewhat on luck. after choosing the cards, the characters begin to fight... and the fight in this game is very interesting compared to other RPG games. and looks similar to the fight in the anime!!

The game is super grindy... and the characters who die Stay Dead... the only time you get to revive characters is in the mid game when you collect Dragon Balls.

I played the Japanese version, and 8 years ago I didn't even know the syllables of Japanese. so I didn't bother translate anything, but didn't need to, since I watched the anime and I knew everything that's going on (and had a walkthough open but that doesn't count...right?).

The Fight with Saiyans & The Journey to Namek

When fighting Vegeta and Nappa, me and my brother had trained a lot and no one died... except for Piccolo in the event scene where he sacrificed his life for Gohan.... In the anime they went to Namek for their friends... But in our play they went only for the Dragon Balls.

We kept everyone alive through Namek, Using the LoL strategy (Load on Lose) and the LMAO (Leave My Allies alOne) strategy... the last one is badly made up...

The story followed the anime completely, Even when Ginyuu took Goku's body and the others had to beat him up.. I'm not sure if everyone made it until Frieza, but lets assume everyone did for this article.

Then Frieza, the final boss came...

Frieza's Battle

The battle was hard... I don't remember the heroes who were alive when the fight started... I know Vegeta, Krillen, Gohan and Tienshinhan was there, but by the time Goku became Super Saiyan... only they were alive.

And Frieza was too strong... the only one who could do him any damage was Super Saiyan Goku.. the others just gave him 10-50 damage in this game where healths are above 100,000. The last few saves were just before the battle so my LOL strategy won't work.

And just when only Gohan, Vageta and Goku left... I remembered I have another character... The USELESS Yamcha... You see, in this game you can only battle with 5 characters each turn. and Yamcha was always the last in the list... that made him not taking part in the battle but at the same time not taking any hit.

Yamcha being the weakest character I knew he couldn't do anything in front of the unstoppable Frieza... but me and my brother decided to make him attack this turn.

And then Yamcha attacked Frieza... he did "1 Damage".

And Frieza Died....

Just like that.....

I looked at my brother shocked, and he was too... Super Saiyan Goku was doing damages in thousands and Frieza still looked unfazed!! even the other characters did their best to kill friezsa doing damage in 50s and 100s points... Yamcha enters the battle late and gets a win!! it's funny....

I wish I had screenshot of that seen, but I was too amazed to take one.

I still remember the scene and laugh about it with my brother... even now.

This is my most unforgettable gaming experience.


images are screenshots of the game or the anime. taken from the internet.

For a time in his life, Yamcha didn't get Yamch'd.. I'm proud of you, friend :)

Sort:  

"Yamcha didn't get Yamch'd" love that phrase!

Related to your article, have you read the manga "The Case of Being Reincarnated as Yamcha" It's pretty damn funny! Especially if you sometimes feel bad for the guy!

Didn't read the manga yet, but I saw few pages (the picture above is also from it)... It's nice to see Yamcha getting his own spinoff... he really needed one. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ahmadmanga from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58949.08
ETH 2306.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47