Playing With Tilt Brush

in #gaming7 years ago

Hello everyone!


I picked up a copy of Tilt Brush last night, to add to my VR collection. As you might already know, I enjoy drawing and art quite a bit. I've never had a chance to draw in thin air though.

That's what Tilt Brush lets you do. You can draw anything, anywhere.

20180205030708_1_vr.jpg

This is how VR screenshots turn out, so I decided to show it as is, for people curious.


Here is the trailer for anyone who hasn't heard about Tilt Brush.


My first experience with Tilt Brush.

When I first opened the program I was greeted by the Tilt Brush logo, and a small tutorial showing me which buttons to use. I decided to jump right into it, and took a look at the different canvases available. There was white, black, space, night sky, some pink and orange tints, a snowman, and one that I was quickly interested in - a sewing mannequin.

I opened up a fresh canvas, painted a few brushes on the mannequin, and realized just how good the camera movement was inside Tilt Brush.

tiltbrush_camera.gif

The camera controls were really easy to get used to, and pretty soon I was moving the camera around without really thinking about it. You can zoom pretty far in and out, and it shows you whether your view is from the height of a human, or maybe a dinosaur.


The brushes themselves are also easy to get used to. The movement feels realistic, and it feels like I'm actually applying the brushes with my own hand.

tiltbrush_brushes.gif

I actually managed to throw a decent dress together for my first time using the brushes, and I had a lot of fun while doing it.

Tilt01.png

Tilt02.png

I think I'll learn a to control the brushes a bit better as I get more and more used to the program. One of my favorite things about the brushes is that they light up, animate, and do things that would be hard to accomplish in a real life piece of art. You can portray things however you want, with barely any limitations.


I knew Tilt Brush was going to be good, but I wasn't ready for it to feel this good. Google is not shitting us when they say this has a future for new types of artists and art styles. I went to check out one of the featured pieces in the gallery, and was not disappointed.

tiltbrush_featured.gif

The details were insanneeeee! There are videos on YouTube of people checking out the featured art pieces, if you want to see more.

It was hard to get a really good videos to make gifs of, because the video seems to be zoomed in, and also moves where I'm looking, since it's my point of view.


I decided to try my hand at another drawing. Can we even call them just "drawings" now? haha. I picked some new brushes, and tried to make something glowy. I ended up making the glowing mushroom thing that is pictured at the top of my post.

tiltbrush_funbrushes.gif

I think I might turn this project into a sort of disco/rave forest area. There are a lot of colorful glowing brushes that I can use to make pretty cool visual effects. I'm not sure how much it takes to cause me to stat lagging, but trust me, I'll test the limits. ;]

tiltbrush_discoshroom1.gif

Also, the sense of scale when you are standing near your art is super realistic. You can zoom out, draw a tiny tree, and then zoom back in and feel like you're standing underneath a real tree.


I also forgot to talk about the menus. You might see the menu in the gifs above. It's the icon filled squares on the left side, or to be exact, attached to my left hand. You can turn your wrist, or you can use the controller to rotate the menu. You can also hold and drag any of the squares, and move them where you want.

With the extra menus that pop up, and can move them around your world, or throw them off into the distance, where they disappear until you need them again. The menus are intuitive and make it feel like they are actual items that you can interact with.


Tilt Brush is currently 19.99 USD on Steam, and to be honest, I think it's worth that price. I'm sure there will be sales, and if you have any interest in drawing, or creating things, I highly recommend this program to you. It requires a VR headset, and is fully a VR experience, and a great one at that.

I'll be putting plenty of hours into this, as it is my new favorite way to draw. I'll have to get better at taking in game screenshots, and maybe figure out how to change the aspect ratio that the game gets recorded at. ^^;

Sort:  

OH wow that looks like alot of fun, though I fear if I got it I wouldn't get anything done except drawings lol

I'm not even remotely artistic, but as soon as I saw the promo for this I knew it'd be cool. Haven't tried it yet, but it's on the list.
Maybe they have some entry level stuff where you just colour in things that are already there? That's more my speed and talent level :)

I dont think they have anything like that yet, but even if you just play around with the brushes, you will probably end up with something interesting. You can place 3d shapes to draw over as well.

I want to see your disco/rave forest once it's done :D Hope you will make a video on it ;)

Very nice! This is the coolest app for VR.

Check this out too

Nice funny video, amazing post, thanjs for aharing

amazing, thanks for sharing

Omfg. I want to try this so bad.
What headset do you use? I have a gear vr that I love, but no controller for it. Hmm, gonna have to go check this out. . 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64182.74
ETH 2768.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66