Will Esports be the future olympics?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

22364914234_2dcc351e62_b.jpg

source: google labeled for reuse

In this post I'm going to talk about how Esports will continue to grow and what the future might bring us.

First a little introduction.

What is Esports?

"Electronic sport is the term used for the competitive playing of computer games."
As a gamer myself I really like competitve gaming, and it's getting bigger and bigger every day.
I will explain why Esports could be a huge thing in the future. But first a little info about videogames.

The games we play today

It's quite shocking when I look back and see how much progress has been made with videogames.
When I was a child I loved playing games like Pokémon and Tetris on my Gameboy.
And we were so amazed about those games, they where the best!

Drawing

source: google labeled for reuse

This game is only 33 years old!

33 years might sound like a lot, but it isn't, it really isn't.


source: google labeled for reuse

Look at this!

About 33 years of evolution.
Well this is amazing, isn't it?

Our new generations will go through the same thing.

Look at the things like VR, it will become huge in the gaming world, maybe not today, but in the next 10 years, a lot of things will be changing.

The new generations will experience the same thing we did.
They played things like COD when they where 12, now they see changes being made with the VR games.

Back to Esports

So you see this big evolution of gaming?

We love to watch games.
Knipsel.JPG

This statistic shows the global eSports audience size from 2012 to 2020, broken down by type of viewers. In 2016, the number of frequent eSports viewers and enthusiasts amounted to 162 million. This number is projected to reach 286 million in 2020.

Source

Views getting bigger is 1 thing, but take a look at the events, the games, the new technologies.
RIGS is a great example of those new technologies changing the game.

Conclusion

Well in my opinion it's possible that Esports might even get more famous than the Olympics.
You don't have to agree with mee, but almost everyone plays games.
And when I become old, I will still be playing games, maybe not that much, but the next generations will be playing a lot more than we used to do.

Feel free to tell your opinion, follow me @yournews

Sort:  

Maybe eOlympics would be a solo category. From fast programming, video, animation-illustrator to the esports. Interesting, indeed.

Never thought about those things, I know there are some programming competitions in my country, never thought about that, but the future will be amazing!

I do believe eSports has a huge future. But replacing the Olympics is not likely. I do foresee capturing a huge part of the Olympic schedule...

Well I don't say it's likely at the moment, but if you look at the next generations, there are a lot of people who play games, and I think maybe one day in the future when I'm very old, things could be very different, I mean, my parents never really played a lot of videogames when they where young, but I did, and a lot of the future children will be playing videogames aswell.

I am an amateur eSports player in South-Africa. I understand the love for gaming, but I also understand psychology. There will always be this craving for physical sports as a sedentary lifestyle is not for everyone...

I do foresee, however, that non-Olympic eSports events will draw greater audiences.

Yes but I thing it might become like normal sports, for example there are sports I like and there are sports I don't like.

So in Esports, there are games I like to play but also games I don't like.
And I think 90% of the people have a videogame they like, not necessarily a competitive one, but it might become one in the future perhaps.

I do not disagree. I already consider eSports a regular sport. I just do not think that it will ever completely replace the Olympics...

I agree, It won't replace it, I think Olympics will continue to exist for quite a long time, but maybe eSports will get bigger, we don't know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63964.61
ETH 3433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55