My top 5 PS4 horror games - Ranked least to best

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

I have always loved horror games. I mean, they're like horror movies that you immerse yourself into! They definitely aren't for everyone, though. They most definitely are my jam, so to speak.

I have assembled a list of my top 5 off of the top of my head. These are titles I have played recently and on PS4. I'm sure there are some that should have made the list, that didn't. That's the problem with only selecting 5!

Number 5 - Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Amnesia may not have the best controls or the biggest scares, but it is definitely worth the playthrough. Amnesia is a first person survival horror game made by Frictional Games, that is about a guy named Daniel who fights to maintain his sanity as you trek through a dark and dangerous castle. As the game unfolds you discover more and more about Daniel and the type of person he was. It's a great game and can definitely be scary at parts.
amnesia-the-dark-descent.jpg

Number 4 - SOMA
Another Frictional Games title. SOMA has one of the best.. And I mean the best, storylines of all time. It's a survival horror game with more of an emphasis on science fiction. As with most games by the developer, it isn't very scary, but it has a charm of it's own. I'm not gonna say too much about this one, as I don't want to accidentally spoil this wonderful experience for any of you. If you have played it though, tell me what you think of the ending in the comments! I know it has mixed reviews.
soma.jpg

Number 3 - Until Dawn
Developed by Supermassive Games, Until Dawn takes you on quite the roller coaster ride... And I'm not talking about Rush of Blood! It's more cut scenes than most horror games and pretty easy to beat, I actually got my Platinum with only about 10 hours put into the game. It has a great story and takes some twists and turns that I didn't catch onto until the game was spelling it out to me. The game very literally kept me on the edge of my seat. The developers really boast "the butterfly effect" as in every decision you make greatly determines the future of every character. That is both true and untrue. You can only change so much, and it's really not all that much. Gotta give them credit anyway! If you play only one horror game in your life, this would be a good choice.
Until_Dawn_cover_art.jpg

Number 2 - Outlast 2
What a coincidence? 2 for 2! Developed by Red Barrels, Outlast 2 is a survival horror game that really makes you appreciate batteries! The night vision aspect of navigating using your camera is something that Outlast is most known for. The night vision alone makes it terrifying.. There is so much in the dark to be terrified of in this game.
o2.jpg

Number 1 - Resident Evil 7 PSVR
Talk about immersive horror. It doesn't get any more immersive than this. Developed by Capcom this game is scary as shit. VR or not, this game has everything you need to properly piss your pants. Most of that pants pissing is from the many jumpscares in the game. In my honest opinion this game has a perfect mixture of what I want in a horror game. I hope to see more titles like this in the future.
resident-evil-7-vr.jpg

Sort:  

Have you tried Fatal Frame or Project Zero as it was known in the west at first?

I couldn't play it alone.
It's done very much in the style of j-horror movies like The Ring or Dark Water.

No unfortunately not. Was just thinking about it since you talked about horror games.

PS4 is my sole platform currently. Once I have the money for a gaming pc I'll have to check 'em out

Spamming a post, asking for an upvote.. And you didn't even upvote my post? Not a very good approach.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57589.28
ETH 3109.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37