First Impressions: Destiny 2 Beta

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

The Destiny 2 Beta was released today (July 18th) for Playstation owners. I also got to try out my first livestream (here). Things didn't go as well as planned but hey... It was my first try. Staying connected to the Bungie servers turned out to be difficult. At first I thought that this was caused by my stream but even after I turned off the streaming, the connection remained very unstable. But without much further ado, I present to you my first impressions of Destiny 2.

First Impressions.png

The Beta

The Beta gives you the choice to play with either a female Hunter, Titan or Warlock. There are 2 subclasses per character available. Armor and weapons are fixed, the same goes for emotes and ships. You start of with the Homecoming mission, after this you can play crucible (PVP) and a strike called Inverted Spire. Because this is a Beta, connection with the servers can be unstable, but I assume that this will improve in the future.

You character is "maxed" (I assume that 200 light will be the max level), so killing of the enemies was not too hard. All perks (abilities) are available from the start. But this will change because Spoiler Alert the Cabal find a way to sever the link between the Traveler and the guardians, effectively stripping you of your powers.

Homecoming

Because I had trouble maintaining a stable connection with the Bungie servers I mostly played the homecoming mission. I got constantly booted when I tried to play the Crucible and the Strike, so my first impressions will be focused on the Homecoming mission.

And boy.... Destiny 2 is off to a spectacular start. Homecoming is an action packed, rollercoaster ride of fun. The graphics are of a much higher quality now that the last generation consoles aren't holding the developers back.
I feel that this mission alone has more story, more character, more emotion that the entire vanilla (original) Destiny release.

Even the gameplay feels smoother somehow. I know that it's not 60 FPS (Only the PC Master race gets to enjoy those ultra smooth frames), maybe its my PS pro that has a better handle on things but the game plays as smooth as butter.

One of the great things was the interaction with the Vanguard leaders. Cayde, Zavala and Ikora aiding you on your mission was a nice touch.

The mission ends with a brutal scene where you are stripped of your powers by Ghaul, who first has an impressive monologue and then proceeds to kick you off the tower, leaving you despaired and wondering what will happen next.

The screen turns black, the Destiny 2 logo slowly becomes visible.....End of scene.

Conclusion

If this is just a taste of what Destiny 2 has to offer than we are in for great things. It is apparent that Bungie has put a lot of effort into correcting the mistakes made with Destiny 1.
As I said before Destiny 2 is off to a great start, Homecoming is a perfect prelude to show off what Bungie is capable of.
I still have to get a taste of the Strike and PvP (my favorite mode) but from what I have seen so far makes me a very happy gamer. Expect more updates on the Strike and PvP when Bungie has sorted out their connection issues (the issues could also be on my end but I doubt it).

I leave you with the footage of my Homecoming mission stream.


Don't forget to Upvote3.png

If you like my posts then click on the image to follow

horizontal_line.png

Sort:  

Wow brother, excellent post charm me! Vote for my comment, you would be helping me a lot, thanks

Thank you, you have been charmed :)

You sure make me excited about playing this!

You should be, the Beta felt great to play. If the rest of the game is as good as the first mission than this is going to be one of the best games this year. But there is still a lot we haven't seen of Destiny 2. Be on the lookout for my review in September when the game is released.

I will be, thanks!

Do you have to preorder to play the beta?

Yes, I preordered the digital version on the psn store. No code was required, just downloaded the beta and that was it.

Nice review of the game, I am thinking about to buy it now. That's why I want to nominate you for this:

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

What is Operation Curation Delegation?

OCD -- Operation Curation Delegation -- is a team of newly selected Steemit Curators. We are exploring the Steemitverse in search of those under-appreciated, under-exposed New User Posts. And then, we share them with the Steemian Community.

We strive to find the gems lost in the Steemit Sea and bring to them to the masses. The OCD Team wants to support new users on their Steemit adventure!

Your post has been selected for possible nomination on our daily feature.

Please reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us promote your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article will be used on our compilation post!

Please follow @ocd -- learn more about OCD (transparency is key) and see other Gems!

I accept :)

Nice, got some extra exposure. Thanks for the tip. Upvoted your comment :)

O weeeeee you are bringing back my former love of gaming with these epic posts .

Keep doing great things buddy

Thanks man, Why give up gaming? Just play less and pick your games carefully. Thats what I do, it's great to take a break sometimes and then come back so that you can relive those wow moments all over again. Horizon zero dawn and Assassins creed are perfect games for that. I started HZD 2 months ago and am still playing it whenever I have some spare time.

Not too sure buddy I think I was listening to society, e-sports wasn't mainstream yet so you know how that goes. Also traveling a lot makes it hard to stay in it.

I will take your advice because I have been wanting to play Assassins Creed for so long now.

Great post and definitely agree with what you have to say can't wait for the full game to come out.

Thank you, The full game has lots more things we haven't seen yet, a lot to look forward to

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61129.70
ETH 2660.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55