You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rimworld [Game Review]

in #gaming7 years ago

This looks like fun. I love when games focus on experience and mechanics more than graphics.

I've been considering giving "Dwarf Fortress" a try too. But games that consume hundreds of hours - they're a blessing and a curse.

Sort:  

Rimworld is sort of a Dwarf Fortress light. You can get the same kicks out of it, without investing an ungodly amount of time in just learning the game.

Oh really? Now I am getting tempted. Sounds about my speed.

It's funny, I got one of those "Humble Bundle" packs on Steam and it contained this farming simulator called "Stardew Valley". It's kind of addictive, but I'm getting sick of watering my damn crops every morning.

Stardew Valley is very addicting! :D but yes, until you have the sprinklers in watering takes a ton of time.

That's for sure! And I haven't even figured out how to get minerals yet!

It's a pretty smart move on the designer's part to make the graphics simple - makes implementing new features a lot easier when you don't have to sink a bunch of money and time into animation, etc.

And definitely a blessing and a curse - I actually don't play too many hours of games per week anymore. I usually pretty more narrative-driven games that last about 2-8 hours, but this one really beat the curve for me.

Dwarf Fortress is the most complex game EVER. I've been playing for more than 2 years and still amazing to me! Rimworld is a nice choice if you are starting in this kind of game!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58961.27
ETH 2500.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45