You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Six Absurdly Difficult D&D Adventures (That Aren't 'Tomb of Horrors')

in #gaming7 years ago

You're making me feel old, as I had a library of several hundred first edition D&D books back in the day. But it's great fun to read these summaries and reviews.

Never did play "Tomb of the Lizard King," though. I would add "The Lost Caverns of Tsojcanth" to your list. A pretty basic plot but it was good for several brutal marathon sessions, and I can't remember if we actually finished it.

Sort:  

Pretty much every module in the S-series was brutality incarnate (although given S1 was Tomb of Horrors, I can see why this may have happened). I wrote a companion/sequel piece to this one earlier this year, and I'll re-post it here after this one's had it's chance to shine, though Tsojcanth didn't make the list. If I write a third, I certainly welcome suggestions, so if anyone else has any they'd like to see write-ups on, speak up! My collection is mostly comprised of 1E and 2E content, with a smattering of 3E and a handful of Judge's Guild stuff. I don't collect 4E or 5E though. Had to draw the line somewhere. :)

Also: we aren't old, we're vintage or collectible now. ;)

Don't suppose you ever ran any pathfinder (3.75)?

No, although I have some of the supplements and rule books they produced. Second-hand market for Pathfinder stuff is absurdly expensive, and waaaaay out of my price range for a lot of things. I love that they were able to continue the 3.5 license, as I think that rule-set was incredibly player-friendly, but finding the time to get a group together for even one session, much less a weekly one, seems to get harder the older one gets. :(

Gotta check out the "We be goblins!" Set. It's a free series they add to every year

That's right - we just keep getting more and more valuable!

I can't remember too many other adventures in particular, except for "Horror on the Hill," which was one of the first Basic Level ones. Oh, and "The Lost Island of Castanamir" was pretty mind-blowing.

I loved the art in the early D&D. It left so much more to the imagination.

Horror on the Hill is the only module in the B-series I'm still missing from my collection. They collated a bunch of the B-series modules into a super-module called In Search of Adventure, but the Horror on the Hill segment was edited to exclude the first 19 encounter areas. The fight on the bridges over the lava was always epic. :)

I don't have Castanamir either, now that I'm looking at my checklist...drat!

I just checked eBay for it. Man, looks like I should have held on to those old modules.

It's funny, I remember the toy store in the mall marking them all down to $1 each, marching in and getting everything I could. Then years later when I was moving I took the whole collection to the gaming group at the community college and sold them off for $3 each. I felt like I'd done pretty well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60941.82
ETH 3385.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50