Why Call of Duty: WWII bugs are bigger than the game

in #gaming7 years ago

I will start this post off by saying this - I am not a hardcore gamer. In fact most of you reading this could probably claim a much better K/D ratio than mine, and have eclipsed my hours played by tenfold. I will also state this post is not meant to capture all of the bugs in the game, but simply point out the few I find the most troubling, and how Activision has handled them sets a precedent that is very troubling.

THE BUGS

  • Lag/Bullet strike issue:
    Even as mediocre player I have seen many instances where it is clear what my console is recording as hits is not a hit on the server. Any game with players throughout the world, trying to play in real-time are subject to a certain amount of lag-related issues, but in WWII it is significantly worse than previous versions
  • Team Members getting black screen
    I almost always play with friends, in a party. This means that everytime we play, only one of us gets to see the summary screen at the end of the match, and the winners podium. I personally do not miss the podium (usually because I am not on it), but to be able to see the new camo or weapon accessories is important to me.
  • Game crashes on lobby exit
    If we are in a party and the party leader leaves the lobby with the party, all members other than the leader will get a black screen, and the game will lock up, unless you are able to get into the headquarters screen before exiting
  • Cannot see orders in between games
    I cannot see what my status is of the current orders (How many more headshots do I need, etc) while in between games in a party. All of the icons are "loading".
  • Losing supply drops
    If I try to get a supply drop while in a party, I may actually lose it. Seems to be about 70/30 in my experience if I will get the drop or lose it.

SO WHAT WORKS?

  • Ability to purchase COD Points for crates and game upgrades
    In the last two weeks, while gamers far and wide have notified Activision of all of the bugs, the only significant update we have received is the ability to spend more money in the game.
  • Servers have been more stable
    Since the launch, Activision does deserve some credit for taking the time to resolve unexpected issues with their servers.

HOW WILL THIS AFFECT THE FUTURE OF GAMING?
This is the big issue in my opinion. As an Xbox user I can only speak in terms of how Microsoft and Xbox Live Gold have handled the situation, but it does appear to be the same on the Sony side. Microsoft is well aware of the issues with Call of Duty: WWII. The Game rating in the store is at a 2.7, well below many other popular games. In my own discussion with Microsoft Support in regards to the issues with the game, I was told they could not offer a refund due to the "issues involving solvency of the Xbox system", stated Maylay, my chat support technician. After pushing further, it was clear that Microsoft was aware of the issues with the game, but they still considered to sell the product AND allow for them to increase their revenue stream. Where is the pressure from Microsoft to provide a quality product to their customers? Where is the push to suspend Activision's revenue stream until existing issues are fixed?

Consumers expect a better product than what Activision has delivered. This is not about whether or not you like the maps, or the graphics, or the game. This is about usability of the service we are paying for. Not only did I pay for the game itself, I pay a subscription in order to be able to play that game online. Microsoft is as responsible for the quality of the product they allow on their systems as the developers are. The fact there have been no consequences for Activision, and their reluctance to resolve these issues, sets a ton we as consumers should not accept. If I am another game developer, what is my motivation to ensure a bug free release of my next big game? Since we cannot all go get our money back for the game, what are our options? If I cancel my subscription to Xbox Live , I cannot play the games that work great, and I have paid for. My individual choice to not pay any more money to Activision is insignificant. In all honesty I have never been one to buy the in game packs.

So we are left with one option - Contact Microsoft or Sony and DEMAND they insist Activision fix the game, and give us the experience they committed to prior to our purchase, or they shut off their revenue stream until they do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13