Controller evolution over the gaming years

in #gaminglast year

I've been a part of home gaming since it was something that was even available. At great expense, my family was an early adopter of the Atari 2600 which retailed for $199 at release. That would be about $700 in today's money and I am still in awe that my super-frugal and not rich parents let us have one of these at that price.

The controllers were very basic but hell, we didn't know any better at the time and most arcade games only had 1 button at that point in time anyway.


image.png
src

If you were alive at the time you are likely already aware that the rubberized cover on the joystick would get stuck and most people eventually just pulled it off exposing the plastic stick below. It was pretty advanced at the time considering that it was almost capable of detecting movement in a 360 degree sense. This is the late 70's and early 80's we are talking about here. We really couldn't do very much with any tech at the time. As an example most houses still had rotary telephones and if you were born after 1990 you probably don't even know what that means.

Controllers changed a lot when Nintendo decided to abandon the joystick and go towards a controller that nobody, at least not in the USA, had ever even thought of.


image.png
src

4 buttons on the same controller? are you insane? Plus the D-pad was something that perplexed all of us when we first picked it up. Play for an hour or so and you were converted though, it is a MUCH better design than the joystick. Some purists didn't like it though and preferred the arcade experience. Nintendo was happy to accommodate such people and they had joystick versions of the controllers available for what I considered to be a rather excessive price. It was probably around $30 or so, I don't remember. This was the mid-80's though and I had a paper route that paid around two dollars a day so getting a $30 controller was never going to happen for me.

The evolution of controllers continued and rather than show all of them and make this blog entry 10,000 words long, I think someone summed everything up that happened over the years in this meme perfectly.


image.png

I play Playstation more than anything else these days and I only know one person that even has the latest X-box. Lots of people have a Switch and for my PC gaming the only available and reliable option is a Xbox controller.

I do find it funny that Nintendo for some reason feels compelled to completely reinvent their controllers with every new console release. I actually kind of fell out with Nintendo because of this and the last non portable system of theirs that I owned was the GameCube, which I thought was a fantastic system that unfortunately just had too much competition at the time.

If I had to choose a favorite controller of all time it would probably be the original NES one and this isn't because it is the best one by today's standards. It sits at number one on my list because Nintendo took a HUGE risk by completely changing the design of what people considered to be a controller and they totally nailed it. If anything they were the pioneers that paved the way for modern day controllers and while I am sure someone else would have done it eventually, joysticks have almost completely been phased out.

I don't miss them. They were huge and were easy to break.

Sort:  

Looking at all of those controllers, there aren’t any that I think are really bad. The N64 one was probably the strangest but the trigger worked really well for games like Goldeneye.

I’ve hooked my PS3 controller up to my PC although the PC’s been tricked into thinking it’s an Xbox controller. It works though and it’s good for platform games.

I miss joysticks in a way. Although I remember getting pissed off with Q-Bert when the joystick confused up with down.

The ps4 adapter I had for my PC was stupid and it has a slight delay on the controls because it was simply an after-market adaptor for the real console controller. As I am sure you can understand a delay, even one that is just a few milliseconds can change a lot about a game with todays playstyle.

The N64 controller really seems silly these days but it worked at the time. Something not featured in those pictures but should be are the evolution of the absolutely monstrous Sega controllers. I remember the Dreamcast controllers being downright uncomfortable they were so huge. The Atari controllers got out of hand with their enormity as well but Atari couldn't seem to do anything right post 1984 or so.

Can you just plug it in with a USB cable? That's all I do with my PS3 controller and have some software (SCP I think it's called) which works well. Although my reflexes are so crap these days that there's probably a huge lag 😆

I think this is what you're looking for...

image.png

We all know they peaked with the Mega Drive.

Some would argue a big part of their downfall was that they hung onto the mega drive for too long. They kept making terrible add-ons for it that further diminished their name rather than just get cracking on a next-gen system. Then when they did finally get the Saturn out the door it was a beast of a machine and it was really expensive. It didn't help that it only had something like 6 games for the first 4 months after launch.

I've never had a PS 4 controller that plugged in straight USB. This is probably the problem. I honestly have never tried to plug in my ps4 controllers from the console which are also USB... hmmmm.

Great meme by the way.

Then when they did finally get the Saturn out the door it was a beast of a machine and it was really expensive.

It sounds like they were ahead of their time - I don't think I'll be able to afford to buy a games console until it's at least 2 generations old!

Generally in general nowadays it is useful for many gamers to keep up with trends in the game industry in a timely manner as well. I try to follow the news so that I don't miss anything. If you are looking for where you can get accurate and timely news from the world of gaming, you can do it here https://gameua.com.ua/ . I've learned about a lot of new modern games here as well as older ones, the same indie games I missed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64091.48
ETH 3514.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52