Video Gaming Is A Social Activity

in #gaming6 years ago

There was this idea that gamers were anti-social. That they would sit in front of a screen and spend more time alone than with others. But now that has been blown wide open to the point it is not even a stereotype anymore. Between streaming and online gaming, it is almost exclusively social. There is chat that gets filled with people talking and teams being formed with strangers. There are still single-player experiences but the co-op and social aspects have really blown up.

But I would argue even retro games had a lot of social aspects to them. Sure, I have lost myself to a single-player game or two were I could have been socializing but I also have memories of games like Mario Party, Street Fighter and Tetris Attack. Gaming is a good back to fill the gap between people you don't know and gives you something to talk about. Or it can give you a way to co-ordinate with a friend and work together. Who else has memories of sitting around playing a 64 title?

And now we have students bringing phones to class so they can play fortnite with friends. A squad based game where you have to work together. How is that different then a sport? (well minus the exercise thing :p). Gamers are very social, the activity itself is embedded in interacting with others. And not only friends but strangers around the world as you

Plus with esports we have a community activity where we are watching and cheering for the same teams.

Go gamers.

gaming-2259191_1280.jpgwork together towards the same goal.

Sort:  

This is 100% true for me. I rarely play video games alone anymore. Besides far cry 5, all of my gaming over the last two years has been online with a close group of friends. I think the social aspect of these newish online games like overwatch, PUBG, and fortnight are successful BECAUSE they allow for such social play. At the end of the day, humans are built to be social, not isolative.

Resteemed!

I am playing video games last 25 years and I can say that intercion during online playing is nice but it can not be compared with p2p communication. WOW was the first game where I have started interaction during the game and that was revolutionary at that moment but can't be compared with for example playing PES two on two(not online) and joking between ourselves. So if you are only playing games alone online, you can't be socialized like playing games with friends in gaming room.

I fully agree with you ... well said .... keep it up

I completely agree with that.

I used to play online games a lot, and I have met lots of people (I also met them in person).

From time to time, I still go out for a drink with some of them, since we live in the same city.

And one of my friends met his best friend online.

They were playing PUBG together, and starting hanging out outside of games.

Read the twitch chat and it's disgustingly racist, sexist and homophobic most of the time. if calling someone a "nigger" or "faggot" is social then I guess you're right.

Interesting, however, friends call themselves these names in person anyway. Are there any Social justice versions of these apps? curious....

Wow, calm down my friend. Social justice versions, you know, where everyone has their safe spaces and no one has problems and everyone's a winner.. I'm all for SJW's, power to them as they have their place, but I'm happy for my friends to give me some stick, and if they can't take any themselves and have a laugh about it, them hey where's the fun in that? maybe they are not really my friends...

I'm not calming down! I'm a social justice warrior!!!!

Fair enough, point taken

i am sorry for posting this here, i don't know if you saw it if you did i am sorry.

i made this comment in regards to a post you made the other day about asking for upvotes etc and i would like to know your thoughts regarding it.

" i agree 100% with this. i will add this however, i have noticed some older steemit users have this thing where they upvote the comment from a new user with about 10-15% and then upvote their own reply to that comment by 100%. it's a sure way to make me never look at your posts again!

(this is not ment towards you whatageek) i just felt like it fit with the post."

again if you already saw it i am sorry.

No worries, I want to see more people running contests personally, especially big accounts.

wow, I wish I could understand this a little more, do you have any information you can pass my way about this type of behavior?
thanks

when i have commented on posts where the author has let's say .30$ worth of vote power some of them only gives me 10-20% which i would not have a problem with if it weren't because they upvote their own reply by 100% so they give themselves the full reward while the commentator only gets about 20%

games can really help people connect

by dint of video gamming
it Improves the brain's speed greatly,,Enhances multitasking skills.
Improves social skills.

i agreed
video game is so skill based
its so great in Improves problem-solving skills and our
Enhances memory,,,

oohhhh what a game man!!
i really like it.
thanks for sharing it

Good to see someone is start to understand why we play games. We actually doing social work. Thanks for the support from bottom of our heart.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68220.71
ETH 3321.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74