A Great Article About Gaming (and no not mine :p )

in #gaming6 years ago

So gaming is again in the news as a crutch to blame for the worlds ills. And fortnite being the popular thing right now is attacked. It happens. It has happened and will continue to happen. But know that gamers are used to it. Here is a great article by Keza MacDonald about the dance we continue to do. And limerick by me.

You claim games put us on blast
and how can our society last,
maybe you should look.
in a history book,
What was your excuse in the past?

Check it out here:
https://kotaku.com/video-game-becomes-popular-world-panics-1826992305

I really like the title.

gaming-2259191_1280.jpg

Sort:  

Dude we have VR now! Last night I was playing vr at a friends house and it was like I was doing cardio on a tred mill. At least the future gamer kids will be moving their butt now
hhahah

The battle royale game ,'fornite' is freeeee freeee!! Well except when you want the fancy costumes. Custom gliderss, latex outfits. @whatageek we know the media will talk about the latest thing in and put their spin on it.

I read the article and it saddens me to say that it is not the gamers that use the excuse of escapism but sadly it is a whole generation that wants to blame video games for shortcomings in their children.

The sad reality is that the so called loving mothers were too interested to stay at the spa rather than with their children and fathers that thought that they could get away with anything.

Sadly is the whole generation of adults (40+) who are using video games to escape the blame of not being able to raise the next generation right.

I think that games are not the culprits of the world's ills, they are simply a distraction, fun. For example, there have always been war movies, of cowboys fighting, and that is why people are not going to kill each other.

There are games that awaken that evil and negative side to children. but everything is in how weak of mind the person is.

Still trying to get over my addiction to Donkey Kong and Ms. Pacman as well as Gallega. Yeah I know I'm old school lol

But am open minded to the newer ones :)

Thanks for the post @whatageek

P.S. Btw, I'll be gone for a Month on Vacation in a couple of days so just letting my good Steemian friends know that my regular Commenting/Curating on their blogs that I follow might be limited. Thanks for understanding :)

With Fortnite fever the media has gone crazy, when something becomes popular and addictive in a way that does not affect much the health depending on the person, when things like these become so popular they are crossed out of something bad and it is kinda stupid.

What is this? 2001? damn I hate all this assholes that spout crap baseless shit like this, gaming a disease kek, they should probably check themselves for coffee addiction coffee is a disease too.

I have a personal hatred against these sort of people that start saying dumb shit, back in 2001 or 2003 I can't remember, there was a bunch of people claiming that Yugioh cards where satanic messages and my mom threw my cards away... man I never got over that, then there was a similar thing about Pokemon but I got smart and hid my games until she forgot.

It makes me mad because I know someone out there will believe it and some poor kid will pay for that ignorance, just like me.

I agree with the general premise of the article.

However, I do find it somewhat ironic and amusing that the "gaming press" espouses this stance while also arguing that Steam's recent announcement of having minimal content-based filtering on Valve's end is a dereliction of duty.

Here's Kotaku's reaction to the Steam announcement: Link

By arguing that position, Kotaku makes the argument that games do have an effect on people, so it should be moderated by Valve. Yet, the article linked in this post is saying that criticisms from outside the gaming community regarding the effect games have on people is wrong.

Which is it?

I don't think video games were around when world wars were going on a hundred years ago or when imperialist countries went on rampages to conquer countries for their pleasure... Just plain dumb...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62218.49
ETH 2445.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62