My Game Update 2 (Unity Space Game)

in #gaming7 years ago

Hey guys, it's me again. I know its been a few days since I've posted anything, but I have a good reason. I have decided to scrap the idea of top-down 2D space mode and I am going to be working on a fully 3D space game! Almost immediately after I posted my first update, I looked at the game and imagined what it would be like when it's complete. The 2D space mode just won't be immersive enough for what I want to do with my game. So I started a new scene in Unity and explored making a 3D space game to test the waters and decide whether or not I can do a fully 3D space game.

What have I done so far?

The first thing I did was download SpaceScape, which is a program that allows you to generate a space skybox quickly. Then I added some on screen controls for my camera and threw in a planet so I could see everything at work. I went ahead and uploaded a video to YouTube demonstrating flying around and shooting projectiles. Of course everything is place holder as of right now, until I can download some 3D modeling software and create my own models and textures.

Challenges Ahead

I need to start making models for my game including planets, ships, and space stations. I have to get multiplayer figured in at some point, but there's still a lot I need to do before then. Asteroid mining, space trade economy, and maybe even some space quests are planned. Let me know what you think about my progress so far and my decision to make the game fully 3D. Thank you for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60993.82
ETH 3387.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49