Join Me On My Game Making Adventure!

in #gaming7 years ago

Hello, my name is Wes and I want to start a video game project and share it on Steemit! I would appreciate any feedback along the way and I might offer game demos as things develop. My main goal here is to have fun while sharing the game with you.

So what's the game about?

Space trading, combat, and exploration. In October of 2004, I found a free "MMO" called The Universal, which was a galaxy of star systems that also had planets you could land on. The planets were typically player ran servers with games of their own. On an Economy planet, you could build a house, setup businesses and become the world's richest player. Other planets were more like mini-games such as a racing world, or a war planet. Planet servers were fully customizable to do what planet owners needed them to do and some worlds even had quests and stories. I played The Universal for probably eight years before it declined to the point where I no longer felt its magic and I left.

For my game, I want to try to recreate some of the magic that The Universal had. I want to create a galaxy in which player interaction is the focus. Sure, you could attempt to be a lonely space trader, but when alliances are formed and a gang of space pirates target you for your cargo, you're forced to fight back. Naturally, there will be conflict between players. This is an aspect of the game that I think makes it worth playing. I want there to be faction wars, pirates looting people, and people forming alliances to deal with all of the problems.

What's the plan?

The plan is to start small and expand as time goes on. I am just one person and this is a huge task. It can be done though. The Universal was made by a handful of people. Players created a lot of content for the planet side of things. I'm going to start small and work my way up. I'll start out making one star system and one spaceship type. I get some things functioning with one player before I add in multiplayer features. It will take time, but it will be worth it. Once I get things set up as far as space goes(this will take a long while) I'll begin working on planets allowing players to host their own worlds.

I will be using Unity3D to make my game because I know it well and I know it would allow me to do everything I want to do. I'm considering making it multi-platform so that users with all sorts of devices can play together and Unity would allow me to do that.

So what do you think?

Does this sound like a good idea? Let me know what you think. After this post, I'll start on the project and hopefully by tomorrow I can have the first part posted. Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @wes773!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here!
Unfortunately, I can not make an upvote of your record - my steem power is still small. But in the future I will come back and do it. If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me.
Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and I hope you will follow me.
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58049.95
ETH 3128.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21