A (Virtual) World of Opportunity

in #gaming5 years ago

Hey there, dear steemians! I have been exploring the world of virtual reality in between trying to keep up with school work. All in all, it is pretty swell!

Now, I can not fully review the Playstation VR, as I have not played a lot of games on it (yet), but so far, I have mostly positive things to say about it. Returning from that botched attempt at motivating my laziness related to writing, I want to discuss today's subject excreted from my mind. How can you exploit the concept of VR further?


We have VR modes for existing games, we have 'experiences' and other full blown games, so we are on a good track. God knows I like me some Resident Evil 7 VR. But, let's go bigger. You know which game genre is like a fetish to me: immersive sims. Just imagine, a game like System Shock, with you creeping along the inhospitable corridors of a space station filled to the brim with abominations subjugated to a homicidal AI whose only purpose is to see humanity erased. Or, a game like Thief, having you sneak around sprawling mansions and castles, avoiding patrols and stealing every shiny thing you can lay your hands on. And for the dessert, a Deus Ex game, exploring a dense urban area, uncovering it's criminal underbelly and using it to uncover a great conspiracy which threatens to enslave the entire planet. Damn... Two out of three examples are about world ending scenarios...

Anyway, coming back from the beauty of immersive sims, what about open world games? (we already have Skyrim and the awful Fallout 4) I am thinking a bit bigger. Maybe a game from Rockstar boasting their obsessive attention to detail wouldn't hurt to experience in VR. Personally, I would kill for a version of Vice City built for the ground up for VR. Or an Ubisoft open world game (trademark), so I can search for random nonsense with my own eyes for a change.

What I'm writing is only scratching the surface, because I am relating everything to stuff which already exists. Someone, somewhere is creating a revolution, and, to be honest, I am really interested in what that mind blowing thing will be.

Sources: cover, 1,2,3


Archdruid Community Discord: https://discord.gg/jeBUjzR
GaminGHD Discord: https://discord.gg/kFwnX7t
Friends with nice gaming content: @free999enigma @StefaNonsense @ROPname @unacomn
Sort:  
Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/6yD2Emr. Good Game, Well Played!

Congratulations @vladalexan! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64373.04
ETH 2775.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66