Tales Runner: The Adventure of a lifetime

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Since I started writing a good six to eight months ago, I have been eagerly waiting to start out on things gaming related. Honestly I don't even know what kept me from doing it for so long. Life? I'd like to think so.

To start off, I want to start off with a game, or I could say THE game that made one of the most biggest impacts on my life. I never would have thought that I'd ever end up writing about a game that I really love, or even writing about things I care about. But life takes you towards paths that you either choose to take for yourself or you don't; and don't end up regretting an opportunity because life will hit you in the head and move forward and leave you behind.

There's a lot to talk about and I've been staring at the screen for a good twenty minutes while constantly reminding myself what I'm writing about. Why should I be thinking so much? The attachment I to this game, the hold this game has over my life is unimaginable.


Opening screen of a race where you fall from a portal before you start the race.

I'll have to start of with how I got into this game. I have been into MMORPG(Massive Multiplayer Online Role Playing Game)(s) for a longer time than I'm going to take to write this post, of course. Eight years old, eight, I WAS EIGHT when I got into MMOs in general. How I got into gaming is going to be a whole different story that I will have to save for another time.

Little kiddo Vishal, ah yes, that's my name, I guess this is going to be a whole introductory post about my life as well since I have played this game since I was a wee ten year old foetus. Even as of today, I'm still involved with the community from time to time and I still play the game when I get the time, with the internet friends that I have made throughout playing this very game.

Goal with the character Maki on the map Jack and the Beanstalk.

Tales Runner, a name to remember, a name you will surely remember, the weird vibe it gives off. Rainbows and butterflies? Every game has its pros and cons and every community has a good side and a bad side.

It is is a racing MMORPG where you run as different characters through a set map in different gaming modes, like co-op, 8-player, 30-player, survival, loads of mini-games too. It might look like a game for kids, but let me tell you how many people played it as kids and ended up playing it as teens and adults as well. There's all kinds of people on the internet. It required skill, a mechanic called dash jumping, would require days, or weeks, or months, or YEARS to master, at one point in time. I still think, to this day, the mechanics of the game are revolutionary and everyone should try out the game at least once.


GAMEPLAY

I will always be hesitant to post content that I have made on the internet over the years, or share it with another, I think everyone will always have a certain threshold that they don't want to cross with social media and the internet and that is okay, we all need to protect ourselves to feel a good level of being protected. But here is a video of one of the 30-player survival gameplay in single player mode from one of the many private servers of the game that I have encountered and have had the time to play it, only happens if I have people to play it with. The best is of course, when you have people to play the game with. 

 Prizma Tales Runner - Lizard Crisis [Easy] 2:52:46


Ending of the map Peter Pan/Neverland.

Other than the inclusion of lobbies and rooms, added on to this beautiful game was the Park as it was called when the first Global publishers named gPotato published it, and Plaza when published by OGPlanet. The purpose of the plaza or the park was to hang around people and different small beautiful structures and NPCs(Non-Player Characters) that offered a range of quests and spinning capsules for either TR(the in-game currency) or Cash for a chance at gambling for a rare item. The NPCs served different purposes as the game got bigger and bigger over time.


Random scenes of Vishire chilling at the plaza with his mates Bats and Idan.


The Park, where we all hang and chill. You got that right. Vishire, the real deal?

Farms were an addition to the game, a place for yourself and as the name says, it's a farm! You can invite up to twenty people including yourself, you see what I'm talking about? It's not a kids game, there's different types of things you can do in the game, and most of all, you can hang out with your friends!

Fuck, you know what? The community was so bloody crazy, ten years of my life, in and out, on and off, I would always get back to the people or the game, or both, and you have to understand most of what the game was for me was what the people made it, we shared a great bond and every one of them were important because every one of them contributing to playing the game and building relationships with people you see around the game everyday. Just like real life, just like Steemit, just like you. Every one of us is important.


Farms are chill places to hang at.

Tales Runner academy fuck around time with Lenny and the rest of the community. Special mentions to my special friend Stephy.


The lovely Arcadia. Where is everyone?

GAME MODES

The game modes in this game was what made it even amazing to play this game, as I mentioned this game required a good amount of skill to even compete with what could even be the starting point for everyone to get a hike on this bandwagon. The game is hard at first, learning the mechanics makes it easier with time, and to be the best, you have to STRIVE to be the best.

Like any other game, this game also derives a lot of its inspiration from mythologies, books, comics and various aspects that have an influence on the world altogether. Inspiration from all over the world and the creativity put into it is pretty amazing. Peter Pan, Anubis, The Monkey King, some things you should definitely be aware of if you're into mythologies and fairy tales.

8-player mode was GREAT, a race with you and a room from 2 to 8 people on so so many different KINDS of maps. I have got to show you.

Another one of those Anubis lobbies to show you how 8-player lobbies look like.

The ending of a race on Sun and Moon 2.

There's also 8-player team mode where you need a 4:4 ratio to play the match on a few selected team mode maps.


8-player team mode lobby. Wonderland. I will never call it what it was called on OGPlanet.

30-player mode was the MOST fun I could ever think of, you can play in pretty much every 8-player single player except for a select few. There was a special addition to 30player maps called Survival mode, where you're put up with different maps where you can die, and kill and screw other people over. Yes, it's a racing game, but there is innovation to this game like no other. If  you guys remember a link that I posted up top, was single player but I was playing a 30-player survival map named Lizard Crisis. If you haven't checked it out already, then you should.


What the fuck?


A full 30-player survival game lobby.


Up up up, under the lizards butt.

Relay mode. I cannot find the words to describe or express how good this mode was, the cluster fuck of people right after the game ends on the wait mode. The room would be out of 20 where only 18 people in a team of 3 of 6 teams would compete against each other in a relay kind of race, again, this has the inclusion of some maps out of 8-player and 30-player but also exclude some maps and change the layout of some maps for the sole purpose of this mode.

Unfortunately, no pictures to show for until I end up finding something, if I do, I'll just add it later!


Co-op
mode. Eight people. Eight different maps to beat. BEAUTIFUL MAPS, see for yourself.

Heeeeeeeeeeeey, I'm stealing your treasure, my boy.


The Queen boss co-op map.


A depiction of how the co-op lobbies look like.


I love the Toy Gorge co-op map.

Hey Dragon, want some?

The fiery dragon in the pits of hell, or should I say the north pole?

The Dragon co-op, was a record setter too. We got a record time on that run, doing that map the fastest it could be done at that point.

There are also additional modes called Anubis and Pandora. The main purpose served by these two modes were to get armor that made a difference fighting Anubis or Pandora mobs or bosses.

At points in time, the game would have an event season where they would host an event for a month to three months. One where you would grind for hours, days, or even months. There have been points in time I wouldn't have slept for days just grinding for the event and it would ALWAYS have a time constraint, event would always be when it is nighttime back here in India and well, guess who didn't get any sort of sleep back when he was a little child. Yes, I'm calling myself a gamer.

Pandora!

Waiting room/Lobby for the Pandora race.

A random run of the Anubis hard mode maps.

The Anubis teddy bear boss.

A couple things I missed out about the game, like character customization that help you with the mechanics of the game. Armor you get out of a process called Alchemy which is the main process in the game to get all sorts of different gear. Gear was then offered in different methods as the game kept getting better and better, or more so just more content being released for the game that the game would always look like it would get better and people would continue to play. Addition of new content to the game was always an upper because there was always something to look forward to once in a while so you would always come back to the game to check out more of what was left to explore or for the new stuff. Or sometimes just to fuck around with your buddies. What are MMOs for, am I right?


COMMUNITY

The Tales Runner Discord community.

There has been an active community on Discord for the past three years. What I should have already mentioned is that the latest global server shutdown on 4/20 in 2017 so the only open server as of now that is accessible to the community are the Korean servers or the Hong Kong servers. I play on the Korean server too, once in a bit.

Having started up the community myself, I had help from a bunch of beautiful people who then took care of the server in my presence as well as in my absence. You will find ALL kinds of people in this community. I'll have to warn you what you're getting into, just a plain warning that states nothing. Just a warning. giggle

Ya'll can come in and dabble whenever!
Tales Runner Discord


WHAT THIS GAME MEANS TO ME

People have asked me for years why I game? I really don't know why, I JUST do. I love playing video games because that is all I have ever been into as a kid. Why do I still play them and talk about them or even write about them? What other reason could there be? Yes, I do love playing video games. This game was one of the first MMOs I ever played, and I absolutely loved it as a kid and I still love it as a 20 year old adult.

Throughout the years of being a part of this community and the game itself, of course, when you play a game for literally half of your life. Ten years and counting, and being a part of that community, don't you think half of what you are is what you got from that particular game and the people you played it with? At least I think so.

Friends, who to this very day, I still keep in touch with and talk to once in a while. Met loads of brilliant people my whole journey through playing this game and becoming a better person because of it and the people. I would like to think that this game, was a part of making me better as a human being.

Lastly, I CANNOT forget my LOVELY guild from the game named Arcadia. When I was talking about internet friends and friends from the game. These lovely people took care of me, talked to me, got me through shit whenever I wanted them to, and helped me out whenever I needed them to, well, mostly. I couldn't have gone through two years of my life without them, I couldn't have done it without them. So cheers, lovers.

My most favourite looking map, Pandora.


While you're at it, you gamers need to get your butts down to the #gaming-chat on Steemit.chat.

And if you want to dabble in my future endeavors, you can come join me and my friends on my Discord server: Vishire's Sexy Club

I really, REALLY, loved writing this post. If you guys want me to do more of this stuff next time, please do let me know, and if you liked it, you know what to do!

And don't forget to click that nice little follow button: @vishire

Sort:  

Great job my friend, looks like fun game and I like how colorful is it, and the anime look, I would like to try it definitely, seems like a Game from Aeria Games Company.
16708461_1758097664216423_1982434632116611043_n.jpg

Aeria Games was in the list of picking up as second time publishers but the problem with them was they wanted to integrate their Aeria Games UI and they'd have to change their whole server DDoS protection because this game had its own platform to dev on if I'm not wrong. And they kept it very very private and to themselves.

I've also played a few games that have come out of Aeria Games too. Was actually talking to one of my friends about Aeria Games at a convention yesterday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66330.08
ETH 3331.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70