The Genius and the Prophecies of Hideo Kojima and Metal Gear + The works of Project Itoh (Must see video collection)

in #gaming7 years ago

As I was digging through the internet for my previous post which was a tribute to Metal Gear Francis and its creator Hideo Kojima, I came across many great material and I had previously seen many of the videos and texts or they were mostly about Death Stranding. I couldn't see a way to effectively connect them to my previous post. So after multi-tasking with some philosophical/biographical content into STEEM I really had to share these stuff with you guys.

I'll start with something that was deeply personal for Kojima san. First of all, have you heard about Project Itoh? The loss of him is easily one of the biggest losses for the modern literature,entertainment, art and philosophy. I didn't know about Itoh while he was living but Kojima san did and his game Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker was dedicated in the loving memory of Project Itoh. That should speak some volumes. The video contains a lot of info:


That's right. He was the chosen one for Hideo Kojima. If Project Itoh lived, he'd be handling the future of Metal Gear the way I want to see Metal Gear instead of whatever the collectivist money grabbing hacks who are handling Metal Gear Survive.

If you are wondering about the quality of the 3 movies, I can say I've seen Harmony and The Empire of Corpses and boy they are good... amazing... monumental works at that IMO exceed the likes of Blade Runner. Whatever the days he had, Project Itoh squeezed out the best out of them.


I must warn you for spoilers. At times knowing them beforehand may drive you to really get into the series and there is so much content that its hard to spoil the entire series as twists have their own twists. Even if you learn all the twist there is still the impact of the delivery. The appeal of the series tend to be hard to grasp and meta. At one time I remember a person who showed some footage of a single little glitch get attacked and accused of hacking the game or altering footage and these were during the times where games came out with multi-GB Day one patches and still had glitches. The franchise had delivered so well that the first thing people think of a glitch is that its somehow fake. I don't know what really happened but I know what building that kind of a reputation means

I Didn't mention anything about The Phantom Pain in my previous article. So I'll let you in on a nice video on that. Just remember that this game released a version for Xbox 360 and PS3 and the game had not Day 1 patches and every single gameplay element was rock solid and no other open world game had this level of action nor attention to detail.

The game received so many perfect scores and this 9 minute trailer doesn't even cover up the full scope of the game. So many things were completely left out of the following trailer:

But despite all of the awesome and ground breaking work, Hideo Kojima was pressured to leave Konami and there are things going on that makes many suspect that Kojima san is planning a lot of stuff. As a person who is trying to do a lot of creative work I know that a massive amount of ideas and concepts simply get left behind without full completion. But I also know that if you really build that big picture in your head and see the forest instead of just trees, you'll be able to plan great things.

Speaking of plans here are another videos you simply need to watch regarding the planning of Kojima. The people who has been around him always talk about how well outlined his plans for future is and one constant thing I've seen with Hideo Kojima's games is that each game's potential and what it delivered gets supercharged in the next game.



Even if you look at the very first sequel Metal Gear got which was 3 years after the original in 1987 it was simply the real version of what was attempted in the first game. The original in the end was made to look like a prototype and though it is a 2D game if you intently look at it, you can practically see how many features (including storytelling) of modern story driven 3rd person action games came out of this age old relic.

As for the crazy pulling off stunts to push the limits of what video games were meant to be, except for Deus Ex, System Shock, The Stanley Parable and The Beginner's Guide I can't even think of anything that can even think about coming close to the things Metal Gear has done. Here are few such examples.




When I was looking for what really happened with Kojima and Konami, these 2 videos really helped.


If you are in a mood for comedy you can watch these pure comedy gold. I don't know how much sense it would make without a whole lot of content. To me these were some of the funniest content I've ever come across in the net.


If you haven't gone through the Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty let allow me to give you some final reasons to embrace this age old masterpiece



I'm self aware that I'm feeding you an excessive amount of content. It's kind of my thing. I almost get off to information overload and since I have a relatively high opinion on steemit users compared to the rest of the social media/blogging landscape I think my efforts are in good hands. I tried my best to find the best relevant content and it did take some time. But it was worth it. Bookmark the page and come later if you want. Resteem the post for more people to see. If you have anything thing to add, there is the comment section for that :-)

Sort:  

This post has qualified for a resteem by the Abasinkanga Resteem Service


@vimukthi just resteemed this post to 4500 followers



  • Pay for more resteems: Send 0.005sbd + post link as memo to @abasinkanga
I am not a bot. Upvote this comment if you like this service

Resteemed upvoted

Aweome worth reading article. You have describe everything details that really attractive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59026.89
ETH 2655.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50