Age Of Empires I: Definitive Edition, A Brand New Remaster Of A Classic Game

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

As I recently wrote in a separate article on my website, The Dockyards, I'm very pleased to get to know the fact that the critically-acclaimed RTS classic Age of Empires I got remastered in 4K graphics! For those of you who aren't that familiar with this game, I'd briefly like to introduce it.

In-game screenshot depicting the remastered main menu interface of Age of Empires I. Image source: Youtube

Age of Empires I was the first installment in the eponymous series of real time strategy video games developed by Ensemble Studios for Microsoft. The game was released in 1997 and during that year was also awarded the Game of the Year prize by Gamecenter. Historically speaking, it revolves around the Ancient Age, with the player having the possibility to command a series of notable civilizations of this time, ranging from the Ancient Greeks and Egyptians to Yamato (Japanese) or Choson (Koreans).

In 1998, an expansion pack entitled 'The Rise of Rome' was released to accompany the official release. This expansion pack included several brand new playable civilizations and gameplay improvements. The most noteworthy addition was the inclusion of the Roman civilization coupled with a series of Roman-related historical campaigns in the single player mode.

In-game screenshot depicting the Roman civilization focusing on their wonder building, the Colosseum in Rome. Image source: Youtube

In June, 2017, 20 years later as such, it was announced by Microsoft that this classic will get remastered in 4K resolution. The release was postponed though until 20 February, 2018. Other than the graphics, the game will also have a remastered soundtrack as well as a series of newly implemented improvements concerning the overall gaming interface.

Below you can take a look at a 12 minute video showcasing the brand new features of the remastered Age of Empires I:

In the end, I'd really am looking forward to knowing your thoughts on this remastered version. I, for one, think that it looks very promising indeed. :)
Sort:  

The game I grew up playing. Loved the game. Counter strike and AOE has made my childhood awesome. And Clash of Clans made my job life happy again.

It was mostly the same for me. Add Age of Mythology, Formula 97, Captain Claw, and some other late 1990s/early 2000s titles such as Starcraft and Warcraft and these are basically the video games I grew up with. They are still as relevant as they were back then and I find this tremendously appeasing. :)

My favorite was Age of Empires 2. I played for hours. Thanks for sharing about this classic game. Me thinks they are targeting us again now that we have jobs and thicker wallets!

Loved age of empires 2, definitely targeting us, reminds me when a few years ago they were using Led Zeppelin song to sell Cadillacs

I for one enjoyed all of the titles of the Age of Empires series plus the spin-off Age of Mythology. Quite recently, it was even announced that a brand new Age of Empires IV will be released, after so, so many years of waiting.

Great news, did not know about Age of Empired lV.

Congratulations @vikthor! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This is interesting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94