RetroPie Videogame System

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

The RVS is a videogame system which plays the oldest games on the most vintage platforms.

You can remember the most popular titles like Cadillac and Dinosaurs, Sonic, Super Pang, Super Mario and a big list of other games.

The size of the system as tall as a packet of cigarettes. But you can play games, view films or only use the simple computer system. You'll have the most advanced system of emulation in the world.

The hardware can only import the emulation of older games before the year 2000, Nes, Snes, MasteSystem, Megadrive, PSX, N64, MAME and a lot more old systems.

RVS is a powerful as a chip computer of today, it has WiFi and Bluetooth, you can download the pictures of your games and you can use Bluetooth controls to play your favourite games.

The base system is a complete operating system base GNU/Linux and is the most customizable emulation system. You can customise the menu, configuration, descriptions of your games and a lot more.

You can relive your golden-age if you build this system.

Take a trip down memory lane! https://retropie.org.uk/

Sort:  

I have done game emulation on an RPI2 and RPI3, i used emulationstation / retropie and found games above 5th generation (ps1, n64, dreamcast) do not play well. Once the RPI has a better GPU i expect that to change. But for GBA/Genesis/SNES and others its alot of fun and very nostalgic.

For these systems you need to overclock the Raspberry, Psx runs very well, N64 only some games but I have no complaints, they work well, in Dreamcast is very limited emulation but some games work decently. If anyone has doubts in the retropie wiki you can check the listings of N64 and Dreamcast, Psx is not listed because all games work very well. https://github.com/retropie/RetroPie-Setup/wiki

Damn, my poor raspberry pi looking very sad in the default case.. Good job.

I was literally JUST looking into this last night. I made a post about some ideas I wanted to do with a Raspberry Pi and forgot to add this. This would be great for my apartment with my roommates.

Coming soon, I'll add the reference of the lego pieces to make the case.

N64? You mean it can play Snowboard Kids?

I've played my favorite N64 games on emulators in the past. Luckily Ocarina of Time has been remade for the NDS, which is pretty cool :-)

With N64 the emulation list is limited. But the most famous games usually work well, like Mario 64, Ocarina of time, Mario Kart and many more, from Snowboards Kids I have no references that works well, but I will prove it.
The last tests that realized are in Dreamcast emulation and Shenmue, it is possible to be said that it is playable.

I've always wanted an all in one retro box. Did you do any testing with Banjo Kazooie? I never got a chance to play that game way back when and if this thing handles it well I'd be sold.

Yes, Banjo Kayooie is playable, some graphic errors in the intro video. But is good for playing and you need to do overclock in the Raspberry PI 3.

Omg I love it. That looks so old school!
Upvoted and Followed!

RetroPie is amazing, just choose a compatible controller on top of it and you're good to go! http://www.hlplanet.com/best-controllers-for-retropie-gaming/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56618.92
ETH 2337.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40