Why I won't buy the SNES mini.

in #gaming7 years ago

Nintendo announced the SNES mini. It comes with a bunch of pre-loaded games just as the NES mini did. Awesome news. Very very good looking devices. The little kid in me makes me want one.

snes-mini-foto.jpg

If reckon if you want one, better put that pre-order in as soon they start the order process for these units because they will sell out FAST. The hype is going to be even bigger than it was for the NES mini and we all know how that went...

Nintendo get's an A+ for making these devices look so damn cool and although I really wanted a NES mini when it was announced, later on I decided not to buy it. And I have also decided I won't buy the SNES mini either.

Why? Well, because I know myself and I won't be spending hours playing those old games. They are only fun for a very short while. Another huge reason is that we have this little console in our household (next to an Xbox One S):

IMG_5279.JPG

Sooner or later Nintendo will release their Virtual Console for it and if for some odd reason I'm feeling super nostalgic I will just spend a few €, download the game and play it for 15 minutes until I decide to play Zelda: Breath Of The Wild again or play a few FIFA 17 online matches on the Xbox One S.

(plus: I have almost all the NES and SNES games that are worth having on my macbook, perfectly playable with OpenEmu (http://openemu.org), but neither myself or my kids play those games)

Sort:  

You're right this system is obviously not for you. I will buy it because nostalgia but I agree with you on some points but disagree on others. I agree that if you have a switch then it may be best to wait for the VC. I disagree about the point you made about OpenEmu because although I used to emulate games it just is not the same for some reason. Second I also disagree that these are "15 minute games" because those RPGs in there are worth far more than 15 minutes. Anyways that's just my take. Have a good day.

I get what you mean. I hardly ever replay any game, so I might start it again... and after 15 minutes I'd think "been there done that"...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67838.57
ETH 2628.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72