League of Legends & Me: IntrosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

According to http://www.loltimeplayed.com/ I've spent about 189 days playing this game on my main account. And that doesn't even include my Season 1 & 2 stats! In this series of posts I plan to go over my history with League, revisiting my favorite moments, my accomplishments, and more.

lol2.jpg

I first started playing LoL back in April of 2010, right around Garen's release date. Prior to this, I had no experience in the MOBA genre. I didn't even know what DotA was. I remember the first match I played, clear as day. I picked Nasus (WOOF WOOF) on Twisted Treeline with Smite and Ghost as my summoner spells. I was so clueless as to what to do or how to play the game, since I skipped the tutorial like a dummy.

For some reason, my game was zoomed in all the way directly onto Nasus when I loaded in. I thought that was just how the camera was meant to be, so I didn't question it. Items? Who needs em? I didn't know the Item Shop existed anyway. A minute passes, minions spawn, and I follow them down the lane.

As soon as the minions collide with eachother, 3 enemies jump out of the brush and run towards me. Silly them, I thought. I have Smite. It does what, like 500 damage at level one? I can basically one shot one of them! Well, it turned out Smite only works on minions, and not champions. I died a sad noob death as my friendly teammate types "wtf buy item".

I revive moments later, and make my way back down the bot lane to redeem myself. Only one enemy was still in the area, the other two had gone top to deal with my teammates. I right click that sucker and go ALL IN on him. I spammed Q as fast as I could, but... He destroyed me. I Alt +F4'd with the idea in mind that I would never play League of Legends again.

A few weeks pass, and I'm bored of all my other video games. I see the LoL icon on my desktop which I forgot to delete staring me down. "What the hell, I'll try it again" I thought to myself. I opened the game and got into match lobby, but my dog Nasus wasn't in the free champion rotation that week. I ended up picking Veigar, because he reminded me of Black Mage from Final Fantasy.

Veigar_OriginalSkin.jpg
IS THAT A SHORT JOKE?!

I finally realized I could zoom out and purchase items this game. A major improvement from my previous match. I didn't know what items to buy, but I saw an item called "Phantom Dancer" which gave critical strike chance, attack speed, and dodge change. It was the perfect item, I thought. If I could make my strong mage abilities crit and dodge everyone's attacks, I'd be unstoppable...! -_-; haha. I actually remember winning this game after purchasing 3 or 4 PD's, but I don't remember any other details. I'm sure I was carried.

I was immediately hooked after winning. I couldn't wait to unlock more champions and level up further. The competition really drove me. I wanted to be good, but I was a total nooblord. It's pretty embarassing looking back on some of this, but it makes me smile.

lol banner.jpg

In my next post, I'll be going over my experiences up to and throughout the entirety of Season 1! Don't miss it!

Sort:  

I haven't played LOL in forever (since before my son was born). It was a fun game though!

Well-written post!

189 days worth of playtime? 😳 I only managed to play like 100-200 hours. Let's see them stats thoo 😉

And I thought that I had quite the large amount with my 84 days...
None the less, amusing to read!

I stopped playing after 5 years of the game, I reached diamond and gave my account to a friend. Good luck on the Rift ! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01