You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Microtransactions are bad for gaming

in #gaming7 years ago

People will say one thing then do the opposite when facing giving up something they love. Case in point, the Destiny situation that you mentioned in the article.

There are plenty of games on mobile that I would love to see later levels of, own that mysterious powerup, or new character but they are tucked away behind a paywall - or me grindinging for hundreds of hours to achieve the necessary in-game currency to purchase them. Not going to happen on either front.

I have bought a few In App Purchases over the years. Most have been to unlock the full game with no further microtransactions to worry about.

My first IAP was Candy Crush Saga. I was stuck on this one level for almost a week, constantly playing as my lives refilled. I kept getting down to just needing a few more moves to beat it but could never simply save up those moves from earlier points on that level.

King, the makers of Candy Crush Saga, offered at that time (not sure if they still do) an option to purchase additional moves (five of them, I believe) for a buck. Frustrated at the situation my wife simply bought the moves so I could get past that level. Three or four days later, I was at a similar cross roads on another level that I had attempted nearly 20 times to no avail.

At that point I realized it was either keep grinding on this level and getting more and more frustrated, pay up the buck or so for more moves, or move onto something else.

I walked away from Candy Crush Saga at that point and started playing another Match 3 title on Android instead.

Developers make these games so that you are forced into a paywall at some point.

I like the Sky Force franchise and how they handle IAP. You can do it, save a lot of grinding and move on quickly or you can grind a reasonable amount of time and improve your skills as you go.

I choose grinding as I generally suck at overhead shooters, which the Sky Force franchise is.

Publishers like that, I have no problem dropping a few bucks regularly on some IAP to help foster continued support of a game that doesn't FORCE you to buy it. I like that, I don't mind it.

I know, eventually if I stay on this path I will pay more than the going rate for a modern console game in IAP for Sky Force and games I enjoy, but that is fine. If the developers are cool with delivering more content that is worth playing then I am fine giving them more money.

It is the ones that instill paywalls that literally stop all progress till you pay up that I won't support. Sadly, mobile gaming (and PC gaming in many respects) is flooded with these tactics.

Sort:  

Hey triverse, thanks for your reply and as always you are on point. I guess that big game developer got the idea from mobile game developers after they saw how successful mobile game makers were with their formula. I do think that their are other means to support game makers besides in game purchases, it is simply too tempting for game makers to build pay wall by upping the difficulty to proceed to a certain level or get certain items.
Having said that if I like a game, I have no problem buying dlc (expansions) but that is where I draw the line.

I completely agree, there are other methods of earning money without gauging your fan base.

King averaged something like $1 million a day a few years ago, at the height of the Candy Crush Saga situation. That is hard to not take notice of if you are a game developer or publisher.

Much like how much money Nintendo made during the height of Mario-mania in the late 80s though, many will try to duplicate but few will find similar success.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66915.04
ETH 2586.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68