You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Rise and Fall Of the Command&Conquer Series

in #gaming7 years ago

I have to go with the original games as they were the ones I put the most time in on. I played a lot on the Playstation console, years later I got those games on PC and restarted sinking more time into the first games. I played mostly as the GDI.

Great article and thanks for the memories.

Sort:  

No problems mate, glad you liked it!

I played quite a bit of the originals too, but they came later. I was just a wee-5 year old when the first CnC launched, so I didn't know anything about it. And playing them after CnC:TS and CnC:RA2, well, the interface was a bit of a turn-off. And the similarities between the factions didn't help either. But I can see how great their were for the time. I just came in the series too late to properly enjoy them I think.

That is understandable. I grew to be the other way around, as the series evolved, I lost interest (probably more tired of the genre in general than just C&C itself).

Did you know that EA made many of the games free, at least for a period of time (which a lot of sites interpreted as "forever")?

Probably a side effect of maturing. Most lose interest in games, or at least the dedication to them as they grow older.

I know that EA started as a good corporation that helped out developers to launch their games, kind of like GoG is now. But quickly changed their tune with the new millenium so I have no sympathy for them now. Sure, I appreciate what they have done in the past, but they flushed all that good will when they started pushing for 1000000 DLC and microtransactions in every game.

I completely agree with you about EA. I remember the good old days of EA - Lords of Conquest, Starflight 1 (and 2 I think was published by them too). Those were the days. That EA is dead and gone though, for proof anyone can look at their more recent releases such as Sims 4 and Simcity. Trash.

Yep, they have much cheaper and better competitors these days. I mean there's Cities:Skylines which is a much better product than SimCity. Not yet anything for the Sims though, which is odd. It's a great idea but nobody is capitalising on it. I don't get it. I know it's supposed to be a girl's game, but I kinda like The Sims, especially the creative side moreso than the life management side.

EA is a far cry from what it used to be, let's hope GoG and CDPR don't go the same route :)

As said in Spider-Man - "with great power comes great responsibility". Sadly, EA failed that test.

Most do. Here's hoping some don't!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64249.62
ETH 3184.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48