You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gaming isn't fun anymore. Help me!

in #gaming7 years ago

Maybe you need a break from competitive gaming? Not necessarily gaming in general. Give the classics a try. Titles like Dig Dug, Asteroids, Pitfall, etc.

If those don't wet your whistle then try some newer titles on the PC platform. Adventure games like King's Quest, Leisure Suit Larry, etc. The Monkey Island franchise is a good one in this genre.

If those don't work, try some racing games, see if those get any interest from you. Me personally, I cannot play racing games all that much because they make me mad to see a strong final lap ruined by an opponent that "magically" turned his already fast, but not fast enough, car into a freaking rocket at the last second to take the win.

The other option is one you mentioned already - simply walk away from gaming for a bit. Focus on other things in life and see if gaming interests you again at a later time.

I hope things improve for you, either in the gaming world or where ever you end up spending your spare time.

Sort:  

King's Quest and Monkey Island look really interesting after looking them up. Really appreciate the input my friend. Gaming is suppose to be fun and I should play more games that aren't so competitive. Thanks again my friend.

This. Completely bin competitive gaming. I had to do that as it was just becoming a time sink with no end product.

I took complete breaks to do writing, make music, then dive back in to play something a little less demanding of my focus. I went through Life Is Strange and Oxenfree and loved it. Then I chilled in Elite and No Man’s Sky, finding a peace in the laid back grind.

Of all things, I find myself hankering for a Switch the most. It seems to embody all I enjoy about games.

Those games are just the tip of the iceberg when it comes to adventure games. There are plenty of fan created projects that use open source, freely available, and other tools/engines to make games in that style. Some are REALLY good and completely free.

I tried competitive gaming out early on and didn't like it all that much so I didn't bother with it in any meaningful manner.

Man, Nintendo is certainly doing things REALLY right right now with the Switch. It is stupidly popular, they are making the right games, and it is only going to get better based on the forecast. "Underpowered" be damned, it is the games that matter and that is what Nintendo is known for.

And that's why I'm loving it. That it is bringing a load of favourite titles across to it from third parties is a bit of a bonus. If the platform basically did the rounds of the classic PS3/360 catalogue for ports, I wouldn't be too unhappy whatsoever.

I'm down with Skyrim portable, but if we had stuff like Mass Effect surface, then the desire is going to be strong!

Skyrim is a game everyone keeps telling me I have to play. Think its about time i gave it a shot lol. Nintendo games just bring out the kid in everyone!

Do you know what? Skyrim is one of those astonishing games that can be, at the same time, absolutely amazing and completely shit! :D

I think Zero Punctuation summed it up in his review of Oblivion years ago, that it is absolutely striving to be realistic and immersive, and yet you get these moments where it completely breaks it in jarring fashion.

Skyrim is jaw dropping. The scale is the real story here, going from A to B and arriving at somewhere new is a pleasure you just don't get anywhere else. But then you get jank. Like when you wait in the centre of a town for day to start, and everyone spawns all together like they just decided that they all wanted to walk out their house at the exact same time. Or the combat, which suddenly becomes an arena shooter as you start running backwards and spamming health.

Despite that, I absolutely love it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.11
ETH 2756.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66