5 Best Streets of Rage 2 Character Hacks

in #gaming7 years ago

Streets of Rage by Sega is a classic franchise, one that fans love. Even today, 20+ years after the last official release was given to fans. This love from the fans has kept Streets of Rage 2 alive and well with new characters. The best character additions are listed here in this article. Don’t shy away, none of these characters will bite – though they will kick, punch and perform specials on your sorry butt.

I am Batman, He is Superman


Fighting crime is a fundamental part of being a superhero. While there are no jokers or bald super scientists in Streets of Rage for the duo to take on, there are plenty of heads to knock around. Batman looks right at home, at least until you break character and start grabbing weapons and laying into the bad guys. Superman, well, he just looks weird holding a knife or NOT knocking enemies across the screen (is there an effective way to explain his lack of super powers?).

Streets of Street Fighter Rage


What do you do when you have the power to place just about any character into Streets of Rage 2? Why of course you bring over the World Warriors from Street Fighter II! That is exactly what we get here with Streets of Rage 2 Street Fighter 2 Edition. M.Bison, Cammy, Zangief, and Balrog (using North American character names here) made the trek over to the mean streets of Sega’s iconic game. There is something weirdly satisfying about using M. Bison to crack heads. His moves just work so well.

Heroes in a Half Shell


Ah, the team from the sewers have apparently been told that the streets are too dangerous for the pizza delivery guy to deliver to their location. This is simply not going to work for the Heroes in a Half Shell. All four turtles are available so you can lay the smackdown with your favorite turtle. I prefer Leonardo myself.

I am a real American


Hulk Hogan is one of those, former, success stories that relied heavily on “right place/right time”. He came up in the right time in wrestling and could move around the “sport” like a fish through water.
If seeing Batman use a knife is weird, wait till you see Hulk Hogan doing it. It is like my childhood ruined in one character mod. Still, Hogan fits well with his wrestling moves and the animations of the enemies.

A Ninja emerges from the dark


Shinobi the ninja that quite frankly helped keep the House of Sega open till Sonic arrived, Shinobi is one of the few “non-Sonic” games to receive modern platform love. Shinobi in Streets of Rage 2 is another “fitting” character addition as he has moves that line up correctly with the animations of the enemies.

Got a game hack that I need to know about? Let me know in the comments.

Sort:  

I remember being amazed seeing that Hulk Hogan mod for the first time. I had no idea such things existed! Thanks for sharing more.
Do you have these yourself? Have you done any posts that I may have missed about your retro gaming rigs or how to make one?
I'm kind of getting the urge...

I try to do a retro article every day. I also run a website called Retro Gaming Magazine where I work with @ModernZorker and a few others to cover #retro games. Though admittedly, #Steemit is taking that over. Lol

Edit to add: I have these mods downloaded. I also have another 20+ mods for Streets of Rage 2. If this article goes well I will definitely do more.

Also, check out my friend @JerryPerkinsII as he likes to mod and build gaming rigs. Maybe we can get him to do some vids or write ups.

Oh sure, definitely read a lot of your stuff here. But have there been any articles on first getting into retro gaming that you've produced or any trusted resources you'd recommend?

I don't even know where to begin. I know I've heard mention of RetroPi, is that the way most folks are going these days?

Oh stuff like that! Definitely, I can get some sources for you.

Hacks head over to romhacking.net, there are tons of new ones there regularly.

Hardware, what are you wanting? Plug and play, build from the ground up, general gaming or specific to one platform or operating system? My apologies for the questions but retro is so big they help narrow it down.

No apologies needed! I appreciate the input & help. I guess I'd just want a system to live in my living room, console style, as opposed to just playing roms on my computer.

I'd love compatibility with a broad range of games, but I'd probably be most nostalgic and interested in revisiting the SNES, but NES and Atari were also staples of my childhood.

Plug & play is great, but I have no problem spending a day tinkering with hardware and installation. I'm all Mac & iOS at home if that limits the retro tools I don't know!

Hmmm, since you are Mac and iOS at home it is outside my wheelhouse but have you thought about just buying a slimline PC running Windows? That would give you the best compatibility across the board (including console style games on Steam such as Volgarr (or even Steam Big Picture).

Raspberry Pi running RetroPi is a popular solution. I would suggest buying one setup already versus building your own, unless you really want to.

I have dabbled with those Android boxes from China before, they are hit or miss but for the most part, they do what they say. They run full Android so you are not really limited on what you get. If you go this route make sure to get one with 2 gigs of RAM. That is the reason most of these get bad reviews for being slow, it is because those units they are reviewing are running 1 gig of RAM. 2 is the bare minimum anymore.

Thanks for the responses and guidance! I think that RetroPi may be the way I go. That newly announced SNES classic is tempting but it seems like for equal cost I could get a prebuilt Pi and have a lot more game options!

Yeah, the RetroPi setup and ready to go would set you back about $50 to $80 and have plenty of options above and beyond what the SNES Classic Mini would give. I think you are making a good decision here.

I just finished making a Hogan vs WWF hack that you may enjoy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59446.26
ETH 2613.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41