Why do you love Dragon Ball ?

in #gaming7 years ago

IMG_20180107_111030.jpg

So yesterday night I watched the 123rd episode of Dragon Ball Super which broadcasted the fight between Jiren, Goku and Vegeta.

As Vegeta turned into his new form by the end of the episode, I felt my body shiver like I used to react when I was a kid.

Beyond the surprise of his reaction, I wondered "Holy shit, this manga affects me so much". Indeed, I am a huge fan of the Dragon Ball series since my teenage time, I used to read all the mangas, watch all the anime series and play all the DBZ video games.

I asked myself : "Why this show still passionate me so much now that I am 27 ?" looking for the answers, I wanted to write about it.

1st point : Scenario.

Dragon ball has a well written story with various compatible characters. The series is colorful, with a lot of humor, tense moments and passionate drama peak points.

It's pretty much everything that gives you stars in your eyes when you are between 7 and 17 years old. DBZ was a way for many teenagers to explore their creativity, let their dreams flow and imagine what they want to accomplish in the world.

2nd point : Friendship.

Dragon ball inspires you and teaches you many important values that you want to build into your life : friendship, bravery, determination and many others. It makes you realize what emotions you are attracted into your life. Goku would never be Goku without the help of all his friends : Krilin, Bulma, Piccolo, Vegeta...

Basically, you need people in your life : friends, lovers, rivals and all the mixture of these people help you to become the person you want to be, achieve what you want to achieve and realize your dreams.

All of my friends aren't ultimate fans of the series and I never compared them to the characters, but unthinkingly the story and the relationship between all the Z fighters inspired me with my relatives.

3rd point : Humor.

The constant tone of the series is focused on making you smile, it could be because you got sensitive to a drama moment but also many times because a mockery situation just happened.

The humor was way more present into the beginning with the Dragon Ball arc when Goku was just a kid. But it is still active during all the others parts of the series scenario in a more lightly way.

It has always been refreshing to see Vegeta and Goku arguing in a ridicule way when they are about to fuse or when Piccolo, who looks all the time so serious, makes this face while training with Trunks and Goten :

4th point : Music.
Music is a really important part of my life, it represents a huge driver and boost to achieve my projects and my objectives. I listened to original soundtracks since my childhood and I still have playlist only composed with video-games or tv shows tracks.

DBZ has amazing music : fierce, adventurous and combative. From the original main theme of the DBZ series to the tracks of Budokai 2 and to the opening of Dragon Ball Super, all the tracks match the spirit of the show.

My favorite tracks goes to Dragon Ball Z Bu Yuu Retsuden on Genesis.

Dragon Ball Z Budokai 2 on PS2

Last point : The Sayajin analogy.

It's a weird way to put it but think what about it : basically, if you are a sayajin, the angrier you get, the stronger you get. OFC, it is not that simple and easy to read, indeed what inspired me is that : there's no limits. You can always go beyond your fears and far from what you expected.

This analogy comforted me within my early life as a ressource to rely on when I was facing difficulties. Nothing can't stop you, if you train, if you wonder and if you believe in yourself, you can achieve anything you want.

As a sensitive person, I also believe strongly on the power of emotions and what they can bring to you. Seeing Goku transforms after losing his best friend, watching Trunks going rage when he's about to be defeated or Vegeta powering-up to fulfill his promise to Cabba almost moved me.

These moments are the perfect examples to illustrate his analogy : if you are a believer and a worker, you will get stronger. The only difference is, in real life, your hair won't turn blonde nor blue and you won't be able to throw fireballs BUT the feeling of being powerful and unstoppable is exactly similar.

At first, I wanted to write as a title "Why do we love DBZ ?" but I concluded that I can't speak for all the fans and that I should express only my thoughts. But I really want to hear all the fans of DBZ so, why do you love DBZ ?

IGNO

Sort:  

I love it. I saw the animation when I was a child.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63312.28
ETH 2601.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79