You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Of Myths and Legends. The Shin Megami Tensei Franchise

in #gaming6 years ago

this is such a cool post! maybe you can add a mythic gods section to the anime server! I have american gods season and vikings season one on dvd to watch... have you read any joseph campbell?

Sort:  

Hey thanks for the visit :D I haven't read any joseph campbell so I can't continue the conversation on that matter, sorry. Gods are cool, I've learned a ton about gods in anime too, we could debate the possibility of making something related, but I think it's a bit off topic. DC comics and Marvel aren't anime but most people have knowledge of it in one way or another but talking about gods always borders on religion. Playing SMT has made me think that religion is just meh... but many people don't agree and it can always be a hot topic that causes trouble. We could debate it though, never hurts to hear more opinions. I'll google tomorrow joseph campbell to see who he is and what's he made and perhaps we can talk a bit more then :D

oh yea, im into gods but not religion except in an intellectual fact way, like Thor isn't nearly as pretty in the Norse pantheon as he is in the Marvel movies. Some of their rewrites are so imaginative I wonder which shrooms they ate. And agree, its not anime at all I just like talking about gods and culture, not many people do. Campbell is an iconic mythology master who wrote tons on all the world myths way back when. His writing is a bit dry, but for all that his knowledge was extensive.

Oh man, I laughed a lot with that "I wonder which shrooms they ate". Yeah, they make Thor like some sexy prince with a thunder hammer that flies all over the place beating the bad guys, LOL, they forget the grumpy attitude, the long beard, the 2 meter tall burly body build, etc... heck they make Thor an american instead of a viking, same applies with Loki BTW. Well, we can always talk a bit about these matter anywhere, I like learning more about these things. I admit I learned a lot playing SMT because they have gods from many cultures worldwide and not just the classic ones you see everywhere so it's interesting for me.

exact! there are a ton of gods that get no traction. tho i do admit casting chris hemsworth was genius. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59248.66
ETH 2601.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43