Anthem || will it be the Destiny killer? ||steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

Will Anthem be the Destiny killer?

Anthem wallpaper 2.jpg

Anthem Gameplay Trailer - E3 2017

My personal opinion

I think that the Bioware's new IP Anthem looked promising in the beginning but now i'm not quite sure, after losing senior editor Cameron Harris and Lead animator Steven Gilmour where does this leave Anthem. In this article I will touch on what I believe will take place with Anthem, the good, the bad, and the ugly. Stick around because at the end I want your feedback, could this be the Destiny killer, what do you think?

EA's Star Wars Battlefront 2 microtransaction uproar

SW meme.jpg

If you have a passion for gaming like myself i'm sure you have heard about the controversy regarding microtransactions in Electronic Art's Star Wars Battlefront 2. If this trend of microtransactions continues and shows up in Anthem, I can tell you right now, out of the gate Anthem will be torn to shreds by the community regardless if it’s a good game. Hopefully we don't see this trend continue in Anthem, but if it does, you can bet your wallet that it won’t stick around for long to even have a chance to compete with Destiny.

The downfall of the Destiny franchise

Destiny is dead.png

We all know our beloved Destiny franchise is dying at an exponential rate, I wont talk in much depth about why this is, that subject is to be touched upon in an upcoming blog post. With the downfall of Destiny this puts high expectations on Anthem because I know for a fact Destiny lovers, like myself, are all looking for a new looter shooter type game, and this is the game everyone is eyeballing at this point in time. With high expectations could come huge success, or huge failure, it really depends on how EA wants to approach execution of the game.

What makes Anthem stand out

Anthem wallpaper.jpg

Anthem's new approach to how you navigate the world and how you play with friends, paired with the amount of customization, brings a whole new feel to the looter shooter genre. I think that the idea of flying around in a decked out exo-suit with a multitude of different abilities and customization really feeds players fantasies of being an unstoppable force to be reckoned with, this I believe separates it from the Destiny 2 experience. Secondly the artwork of Anthem is just astounding, with a huge open world, beautiful plants, trees, and ruins scattered across the land, puts the artwork at a level that could easily rival that of Destiny 2. The last thing that I think that will allow Anthem to rise above Destiny 2, is its loot system. Although we don't know much about the loot system, in the gameplay trailer, we see players take down what appears to be low level enemies and are rewarded with loot right away, if this is how the rest of the loot system works across all enemies and bosses, I can see this being the next big game.

Final verdict

final verdict.png

I think that Anthem is a very promising game with beautiful artwork and amazing ideal, Anthem could without a doubt be the Destiny killer. The only two things that could hold this game back, is what EA decides to do with the economic end of the game and the execution of Bioware's animation and storytelling, those are the only two ways I can see this game failing. So all in all, id say that Anthem is the only game game, right now that can claim the name "Destiny Killer" but I have my concerns about the execution EA and Bioware have to pull off to live up to that name.

what do you think?

I want hear what not only the Steemit community has to say, but also the entire gaming community, but for now it's just us steemers!!! Share this post among friends and other gamers alike, I want the community to support Anthem but also keep EA in check. Let me know what you think in the comments below.

Thank you for your time and I hope you enjoyed!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61388.48
ETH 2984.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65