What I've been playing recently

in #gaming7 years ago

Since I first picked up a PS1 controller way back I've been a console gamer. I worked my way through the generations of Xbox consoles to finally realize I only had an Xbox because of an unshakeable loyalty to the decaying Halo franchise. Realizing this I switched to the PS4 really only cause everyone I know had made the switch years ago. But, oddly enough I found my self bored with the usual console game I play, almost solely an action shooter. While Titianfall 2 is in my opinion the best multiplayer fps in recent history I grew tired of the constant breakneck pace, after regening six times for no real reason. Even though Horizon Zero Dawn has my favorite story in any game this year and has an impressive open world, I played through the main story once and really have no desire to pick it up again. The one exception being to see it in pure 4k on my friends new set up. Even with Zero Dawn's impressive open world, it doesn't beat out the joy of parachuting out of a plane into an enemy compound to wreck everything in sight or taking that ridiculous long sniper shot in Ghost Recon Wildlands. So, if I find the games so great in their own right and niche, why am I pouring hour after hour into PC games? Recently I've become obsessed with Total War Warhammer. In just few weeks I've Burned through the dwarf, greenskins, and vampire counts campaigns. I believe the radical change is because it is exactly that, a radical change from the norm. I love my shooters and action games, but after what feels like a decade of pulse pounding shooters it's nice to slow down a bit and have to plan a move. It's a challenge I haven't had to face in a long long time and this makes it appealing in ways even the best new AAA shooters just can't right now. Total War Warhammer is still uncharted waters that I am thoroughly enjoying exploring.

Sort:  

Congratulations @thegunmetalindex! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51