Chrono Trigger the Musical: Frog's Song [Favourites of The Gillos]

in #gaming6 years ago

"Oh Princess... Listen to Me!"



Chrono Trigger the Musical: Frog's Song is a big video for me. Although I've never played Chrono Trigger this song is so catchy - the animation is perfect. Yes I never played it, don't come at me with pitchforks. I recognize it's a classic masterwork game for console fan but I was a PC DOS gamer at the time the SNES was huge. 

  • Commodore 64 was my NES. 
  • DOS was my SNES. 
  • Windows 95 was my N64.

My girlfriend at the time really enjoyed it too, I often used to call her "sugar butt". I'll always fondly remember those early days with her, she was the first girl I was with who actually took an active interest in gaming and programs like The Daily Show.

If you're interested in the origin of this video, it has as its basis in "Frog's Song" - the theme for one of the characters in Chrono Trigger - listen to the extended version on YouTube here.

I must have listened to this song about 100 times by now, it's a tragedy it only has 100k views as I write this. The singer has such great inflection and passion in his voice, even though it's silly. I especially hear the determination in the part he sings: "Two, Four, Six, Oh, warts and ALLLLL!".

Complimenting the entire video is the animation, it reminds me of one of those Flash animations that were popular online at the turn of the century. The emotion and dynamism is so clear to me and it elevates an already infectious song to new heights. 

In case you can't tell I really like this video.

From the description:
"This is a musical adaptation of Chrono Trigger. Youtube user "Brentalfloss" adapted Frog's theme into a parody of Jean Valjean (loosely) from Les Miserables and I (under his initial protest) animated it."

I have no idea who these people are, I guess Brentalfloss has about 400,000 subs. In any case, I want to say to them: thanks a lot for doing this 9 years ago! It's one of my favourites.

 Join me, The Gillos, as I go through my list of YouTube favourites spanning 9 years of content curation. Enjoy! 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86