Doom2 - Redemption Of The Slain Beta 1.0 Release and Download

in #gaming8 years ago

Video - First 11 Minutes Of Redemption Of The Slain uncut with no commentary.

So here is the uncut raw footage of my Doom2 level with all the latest changes. I die at about 30% of level completion while playing on Black Metal difficulty with no saves. There are no secret spoilers in this play through as well. The level has ad a lot of new secrets added to it including an entire secret area.

This week I will have videos showing BZPlasma playing the level combined with commentary as well as footage of me making changes to the level!

Link to his Twitch Channel:

This time around I am going to provide instructions on how to properly install the level so you can play. This is a full beta of the level but it still only supports Ultra Violence and Black Metal difficulties.

-=Installation Instructions=-

Make sure to have a copy of the original Doom2.wad. You can get this by buying a copy of Doom 2 on steam. If you dont have this the level wont be playable.

http://store.steampowered.com/app/2300/

You need a copy of the latest GZDoom found on the link below. Once you have this unpack the files into a GZDoom folder.

https://gzdoom.drdteam.org/page.php?page=download

Now you need 2 Brutal Doom files. One is the core Brutal Doom20b.pk3 file. Unpack brutalv20b.pk3 into the GZDoom folder.

http://www.moddb.com/mods/brutal-doom/downloads/brutal-doom-v20b-main-file-only

The second file is for the music. Unpack the DoomMetalVol4 into the GZDoom folder.

http://www.moddb.com/mods/brutal-doom/downloads/doom-metal-soundtrack-mod-volume-4

And finally a copy of Doom2 Redemption Of The Slain. Unpack all files into the GZDoom folder.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-2YIXbdMSYsb2x5R2JCLUJqOXc/view?usp=sharing

Ok there is one more step to the installation process. The game will crash if you dont fix an error within Brutal Doom. The error is located in a text file called blood.txt found within the Doom20b.pk3. Open up Doom20b.pk3 with a winzip or winrar and copy the blood.txt file included in the ROTS_Beta1.rar overwriting the blood.txt within Doom20b.pk3

Run the PlayROTS.bat file to begin playing the game. I use the bat file to give the game proper settings for things like mouse look and wasd movement keys by default. I also toggle a lot of basic settings that I feel work best with the level.

If you chose to play this level without the above setup then its very likely you will experience game play problems.

I hope you enjoy the level! This is still not the full release as I plan to tweak things for the final release. All feedback is welcome!

Sort:  

Absolutely stunning! Feels impressively original and true to the original Doom2 world. It's all about the polish and man, this has it!
I did find one switch that gives a script error when you push it... it's on a cliff near the Yellow skull key. (Using gzdoom 2.2, so maybe it's just because I'm not on 2.3 yet)
Can't wait for the final release! Seriously.

Well, in light of "All feedback is welcome!" ... I think I'll say a few things:
First, I love it! I wish more wads were as detailed and well thought out as this. So excited you're back in the Doom saddle! Second, I give up. I've scoured every inch of the map and can't figure out how to get the last secret - the secret area that leads to your signature room. I think getting in has something to do with the combination lock puzzle, but I can't find a combination that works beyond just progressing normally. I also couldn't get the door to open to begin the BFG quest, but I think that might have to do with the broken switch...? 6/8 ain't bad! =P
Anyway, it was a great level! I can't even imagine the time it takes to weave a path back through areas you've already cleared while still keeping it interesting... like a writer lacing foreshadowing and ah-ha! moments. Some elements reminded me a lot of "The Earth Base" (like the..vestibules?..near the beginning, one holding green armor) and I love your approach to secrets. Not just wall bashing or a different texture but something physically different, or better yet, actually being able to catch a glimpse of the secret area itself, making you wonder "how do I get over there" or behind there or whatever. Secrets within secrets are also a huge plus, though I didn't see any this time around =P
Balancewise, I also found myself running out of ammo here and there, especially during the huge fight before the red key. Oh! That secret with the soul sphere..loved that ah-ha moment when I finally figured out what the switch on the reverse side of the pillar did.
Let's see.... I got lost in the area near the exit. The first time you get there you can see it needs a red key, and the only other path is a door that's blocked off. I waited and no enemies showed up and the bars never lowered. Ran the whole level and returned only to find a cacodemon waiting for me. lol!
Okay, not sure this is helping. Just wanted to say thanks for sharing the beta! I can't wait to play the final!

For some reason it never informed me of you second post! I just got to see it now! Weird!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62966.47
ETH 2631.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79