Self made watercooling tower #1

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Eiswand.PNG
source

Introduction

I saw that nice new external pump/radiator tower from Alphacool a few days ago and it got me thinking: How cool would it be to build such a tower myself, with all the parts I already have? So here's what I'm planning to do: Over the next few weeks (or maybe months) I am going to gradually construct a CAD model and then build a prototype. And because I just created this nice steemit profile I will publish updates on my progress. I hope you'll enjoy watching it grow :)

Part 1

Today I don't have too much time so I will only do two things:

  1. Show you my setup
  2. Lay out a rough roadmap for the immediate future of the project

My Setup:

The parts I already have:

In addition I will probably need some sort of power supply for the tower so that it can be plugged into the mains directly, but I'll have to give this some thought first. For simplicity I won't mention pipe couplings, screws and that kind of thing.

Next steps:

  1. Find and download 3D models (STEP or IGES) of my parts if possible
  2. Precisely measure the parts for which I cannot find models online
  3. Create detailed CAD models based on the measurements
  4. Decide what to do about the power supply

Link to next Episode

Sort:  

I'd love to see a picture of the completed build. I've never done a water-cooled rig and this is the first time I've ever seen an external radiator.

Stay tuned then. I'm thinking about designing it in such a way that other people with different parts can use the final product. Lots of votes and general interest in this series will surely help this decision process along^^
By the way let me know if you ever need help building a water-cooled rig. There are a lot of rookie-mistakes you can avoid with a little help from a friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61720.10
ETH 2429.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63