Medievil on PS1 - A game that did not get the fame it deserved

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

I guess a lot of you had this game at home. It's one of the game that you have either loved or never heard of (well some people disliked it of course, but it appears that this number is quite low).
A surprising history in the Middle-Age, in a mysterious environment with wraiths and ghosts, this is what Medievil is.
51yT3LxQevL.jpg

Quick rundown : The bad guy is Zarok, a powerful mage who wants to control the world. Classic. To do so, he cast spells making the night constant so that inhabitants of the world are always tired and of low-energy. This is getting better. You, I mean the player, is playing sir Daniel Fortesque (Roughly translating in French to Daniel Strong-ish), a knight dead a hundred years ago. You then get out (up?) from your tomb and let's get ready to rumble!

Of course, those 100 years did not have only good effects on you. You're tired, with only a rusty sword and you don't have your friday night face.
Hero.jpg

To save the world from darkness, you're gonna use daggers, crossbows, swords and all the medieval equipment.

The environment is (for 1998) quite nice, music is good for a PS1, Light effects are astonishing (1998 guys, 1998). The ambiance is an upgrade but in the same line of GHOST'N GOBLINS and GHOULS'N GHOSTS.
HUB1.jpg
Chest1.jpg

A lot of puzzles, hidden books and levers expect you in this game. One of the best aspects is the difficulty is quite constant (except for bosses) and there is no difficulty wall nor overkill equipment in this game, but repetitiveness have been avoided by the game devs like maestros. You won't get stuck, the hardest puzzles open for upgrades that do not kill the difficulty, and the replayability is very good.

This game is quite cheap now but it is a lot of fun, and it can also be played on emulator (only if you got the original, don't break the law!), and will entertain you for dozens of hours.

Here's the trailer, please note that I do not own any rights on the video

Thank you for reading and if you liked it, upvotes / follows can motivate me to make other tests!

Sort:  

I would have played this, but FFVII came out at the same time and prettymuch took over my life from what point forward. They should re-release it with upgraded graphics/controls/mechanics. That would really reel um in!

I remember it really well and enjoyed it. Got it years later for the PSP but got a bit bored of that into the second level. Nice one. Peace.

when I got my ps1 it came with a demo disk and this game was on it. I played that demo dozens of times! I always wanted the game. I loved it just based of the demo

Well ePSXe is the way to go I think, the CD is 30$ right now

^^^ This. Plus, ePSXe features the possibility of rendering the game (or any other) in much higher resolutions, and even forcing widescreen with the right screen ratio and field of view.

what's that an emulator?

Yes the best one available right now IMHO

cool never heard about it. I'm going to check it out. its for pc? what kind of control can you use?

Yeah for PC, I only use X360 controllers but I think every controller should work if mapped correctly

cool I am going to have to check it out

I have a decent collection of old PS1 games, and I always liked this one!

I can remember me and my Father spending many hours on this game =) Good feels. Thx boss will resteem!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67644.39
ETH 3483.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65