KINGDOM COME ADVENTURES #3 - Sending Myself On A Goose Chase (Getting Nowhere Fast)

in #gaming6 years ago

So once again it has been a couple of weeks since I last found time to play #KingdomCome Deliverance.

I had forgotten a lot of what I was meant to be doing, I couldn't remember where I was last time, all I know is that I started in a castle's training grounds.

First thing of the day was to get some training (seems as I was randomly there). I paid 120 quid to up my skills. I have not since needed to put them to use, so I can't tell how much of an improvement that money has paid for.


Source

I took to my horse pebbles, and after reading up on my mission logs I remembered that I needed a sword! One of the most important things a soldier needs! I have 3 swords! All of which are stolen and too heavy for my puny arms as I am not yet experienced enough. I used to have my own sword but somehow I've lost it, unless I have accidently stashed it in my supply chest back at the Mill?... This is where I got to last time, needing to travel miles south just to find out if I did stash my sword by accident.

So it was a boring start to the game realising that my life is purely about trying to trade and stash and rummage for weapons.

#First Thing's First
I clopped from the training ground into the main bit of the castle. When checking my map I saw that I had an appointment here to go and visit a royal lady called Stephanie, she'd asked for me personally. As I was nearby, I was curious...


Source

I found her in the main building, she told me about a Princess's wedding that was coming up and that she needed some shopping and only I could be trusted to get the right stuff. With a list of 3 things, I accepted the mission and first on the list was a divine wine, the best in the land, and lucky for me it came from a shop in Rattay.

Rattay Schmattay

It took me half the day to get home to Rattay, and by the time I arrived at the castle gates it was dark, late and everyone was asleep. So i camped outside the gates next to a pre-made fire and slept until 8am.

In the morning I decided to first visit the Miller, the place I currently call home. He has a bed for me and more importantly he hosts the wooden chest in which i stash all my goods...especially the stolen ones. I had hope that my missing sword had been accidently been shoved in my stash box. I had to check, It would save the day!


Source

So I spent a couple of hours faffing around the village. Sadly my sword was nowhere. This was the point I accepted it was gone for good. So I decided to sort my inventory out. This included putting 50 quid of my money in the chest to keep safe, just for savings purpose because I felt so rich with over 200 quid on me at the time. I spent quite a long time organising my stuff, then spent longer working out some trade deals with the local trader before heading back to the castle.


Source

I was amazed at the welcome as I approached the now busy gates. The guards and random citizens all saying "hello" as I passed them (but then some of them would swear harshly at me as my horse would barge past them knocking them off their feet...oops!), and as I entered the castle town centre I saw the much needed armourer!

There were only 2 swords I could afford, so I went with "the Assassin" oooyah! I almost lost it straight away when I accidently dropped it and then couldnt see it on the floor! A wave of panic thinking i just lost 150 quid! until i remembered I had actually put it into the sack that my horse was carrying. Phew!

Whine

A bit further up I found the wine guy's shop. But my arrival was disappointing after hearing he had no more special wine in stock. He also explained that he owns all of the rights to trade that wine and that nobody else in all the land had any. As this wine is for the royal wedding, I knew this was going to become a lot more complicated to get hold of than I had imagined.

The wine guy went on to explain that he had just donated his last barrel as a prize for the local archery tournament and this basically led on to me having to enter the competition to win it back. URGH! (Im rubbish!! at archery. In the last game when I was out hunting, I used over 30 arrows and hit 4 things. 1 of which was a fluke! - Not looking good for my winnings.)

So off i trot again until I found myself face to face with the archery guy. I asked him about the keg, and as expected he said I'd have to compete.. but he also looked at me amused and asked a good point, how the fuck can i shoot arrows without a bow?! Of course, I had presumed I would borrow one. But once again, i was wrong.

Yet again I was infuriated with my own punyness, I actually had 2! bows in my possession. Expensive! bows. Posh bows. But as usual they were too advanced for me, rendering me unable to use them at all. However, Archery guy offered to sell me one, but before my spirits were lifted, i realised that my doom was now my wealth, and the fact that I no longer had any! I had 1.1 quid left! Stupid expensive sword.

Boring Chaos

So now, the chaos I had created for myself started to sink in.

In order to complete the main mission (finding out who murdered all those people and horses which I explained about in my last adventure post), I needed to track down and fight some bandits. (This was miiiiiles away from Rattay too btw) This reminded me why I had to come back here. I couldn't even start my main mission until I could wield a sword! So I had previously started to head back here to find one.

On top of that I had this lady's side quest, and on top of that I had made it difficult for myself with way to much faffing, needing to buy a sword, but then needing to make money to buy a bow, then worrying how shit at archery i am and wondering how on earth I will get that wine..which is only 1 of 3! things I need to do to complete the lady's mission...before I can even think of heading back to bandit battles. It's certainly an investment of time!

Always Need Money


Source

It was 70 quid for a bow that I could use so I had to ride all the way back to the Mill to get my 50 quid back out my stash chest (so much for savings, story of my life), and whilst there i fished out anything else that I thought suitable to sell right now. Hoping some of the items i had stolen would go unnoticed, i lugged them back into my bag and once again, turned around and headed back to the castle to trade stuff.


Source

I found a guy at the market who, after swearing at me for trying to flog him stolen goods, i finally figured out what he would and wouldn't accept, so i sold whatever I could and made about 200 on top of my 50. This was such a relief! Especially because I'd also remembered that Lady Stephanie had given me a wad of cash to buy her stuff with, and I spent that on the sword too.

Fuck You archery... Fuck You game

Somehow this whole boring mooch and trade malarki took the whole day. In real life it actually took me 3 hours..which is a lot in game playing terms considering I had actually gotten nowhere.

I trotted back up the hill to the archery grounds with money in my pocket and an enthusiastic smile on my face. I presumed the guy would mention selling me a bow again, but because I had the money this time he didnt mention it, he just charged me 10 quid and i ended up being thrown into a competition! I was staring ahead at 3 targets in the distance...and I could not figure out why I was here without a bow or more importantly, how to buy one!


Source

So i cancelled the competition which seems to have lost me my 10 quid too. Gutted. So then thinking I must have had a bow and perhaps Im being dumb, i asked again to play.... the guy looked confused, then he okayed it... then the game crashed! The screen got stuck loading. In real life i had time to go toilet, make a coffee, skin up and... Nothing. It had died on me.

I had to restart the game :(

And oh bugger infuckingdeed! After over 3 hours of boring trading game play, the game crash took me right back to the start of when I first camped outside the castle in Rattay. Everything else I had done had been erased. I was livid. And to top it off, when I restarted I was face to face with a guard who instantly jumped down my throat yelling at me to surrender and be searched. I dont even know how or why that cropped up! I'm guessing the damn trader dobbed me in for trying to sell stolen goods? Whatever, the point is, I had to surrender to the guard and he took everything off me! Even more gutted!! Gutted to the point I shut the game down again. What a fucking mess around.

So now I think i need a few days to forget everything I've just wasted my time on and the horrible 'starting again' feeling it has left me with.

All in all, a pretty pointless and boring update on my world here in Kingdom Come. And now we wait until Im in a better mood.... and until it's not 2am with heavy eyes.


Source

To Be Continued....

Sort:  

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Nice one! Thanks v much :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64319.13
ETH 3411.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51